Herbert Is A Home Town Winner

Brian Herbert won Saturday's United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City Raceway Park. (TWC Photo)
Brian Herbert won Saturday’s United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City Raceway Park. (TWC Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Brian Herbert made the most of an opportunity to race in front of his home town crowd by driving to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap United Rebel Sprint Series feature event atop the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

Herbert, the defending series champion, took the lead away from Jerry Caldwell on the third round then held off his chasers in the final laps through traffic for his first win of the year.

“I was a little concerned there, I didn’t have any way of knowing if anyone was close or not there at the end,” Herbert commented.

While Herbert took URSS Sprint Cars honors, Austin Allen snapped a victory drought in IMCA Modified action, Clay Money pocketed the winner’s share in the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Ruben Eichman paced the final two laps of the IMCA Stock Car main for the win and Gage Barton picked off his first Hornet score at DCRP.

With Herbert gridding the feature outside row two, Jerry Caldwell and Richie Dewell led the way to the green flag. Caldwell jumped into the early lead with Herbert moving to second on the opening circuit then slipping underneath Caldwell in turns one and two for the lead on the third lap with Dewell and Ray Seemann also making their past Caldwell.

The lead trio of Herbert, Dewell and Seemann distanced themselves from the pack, reaching the tail of the field just past the midway point. Herbert kept his chasers at bay over the final circuits to secure the win with Dewell and Seemann filling out the podium.

After making his way past Caldwell for fourth on the 12th round, Ty Williams closed a full straightaway on the lead trio and was on Seemann’s tailtank in fourth as the checkered flag flew. A straightaway behind the top four, Keefe Hemel rounded out the top five.

In IMCA Modified action, Austin Allen raced from the sixth starting position to take the lead away from early pacesetter Kevin Gray on the sixth round en route to his first DCRP score in two years.

After the initial 11 rounds of the 20-lapper ran off in non-stop fashion, Allen waded through a handful of cautions over the final rounds to post the win in front of Cody Gearhart with Jon Herring, Jr., 11th-starter Brendon Gemmill and Jesse Smith rounding out the top five.

“I didn’t think that would ever end, it just feels good to finally win one again,” the Goddard, Kansas racer commented.