Henderson Escapes With Knoxville Win


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Justin Henderson shot by Ian Madsen coming for the white flag to grab the $3,000 win in the 410 sprint car feature on 3M Night at Knoxville Raceway on Saturday.

The win was Henderson’s sixth in his career at the famous half-mile. Dusty Zomer picked up a convincing win in the 360 main event, and rookie Devin Kline picked up his first career win in the 305 feature.

Wayne Johnson shot out from his starting spot on the pole to lead the first two laps of the 410 main event, ahead of Madsen and Henderson. Madsen took the point on the third go-around, while Henderson followed him by Johnson two laps later.

The only caution of the event flew with seven laps completed. Brad Loyet came to a rest in turn two. Under caution, contact from another car collapsed the front end of the tenth place car of Mark Dobmeier. He retired with Loyet.

Madsen led Henderson, Johnson, Clint Garner and Dusty Zomer back to green on the restart. Zomer took over the fourth spot, with Garner in fifth. Behind them, Sammy Swindell, Terry McCarl and Brian Brown were slicing and dicing for position.

Meanwhile, Madsen continued to lead, increasing his margin on Henderson. With five laps to go, Henderson brought the BDS Motorsports #1 closer to the leader. In heavy lapped traffic coming for the white flag, he made his winning move. Madsen finished second ahead of Johnson, Zomer and Brown. Swindell, Garner, McCarl, Davey Heskin and Craig Dollansky rounded out the top ten.

Swindell set quick time on the night, while Garner, Brown, Jason Johnson and Don Droud Jr. claimed heat races. Danny Lasoski won the B main.

“I was doing nothing but screwing up,” said Henderson in Victory Lane. “I was ramping the inside berm and hitting the wall. It was a lot of fun though. I like a lot of things that are going on. It makes it a lot of fun. Bryan (Sunby) always gives us a really good car. If I wouldn’t have screwed up earlier, maybe I could have driven by him (sooner). It was a great racecar as always.”

Calvin Landis led the first two laps of the 360 feature, but it was all Dusty Zomer after that. The Sioux Falls native took the point on lap three. On the fourth go-around, Henderson moved into third, passing Sawyer Phillips.

On lap six the only stoppage of the 18-lapper came for debris in turn two. Zomer led Landis, Henderson, Jamie Ball and Lee Grosz back to green flag racing. Zomer pulled away from the field, while Henderson slowly reeled in Landis for the runner-up position. He would make his move for the spot on the last lap. Ball and Jeff Swindell trailed the lead trio. Joe Beaver, Grosz, hard-charger Russ Hall, Jarrod Schneiderman and Jason Johnson rounded out the top 10.

The finish:

Justin Henderson, Ian Madsen, Wayne Johnson, Dusty Zomer, Brian Brown, Sammy Swindell,  Clint Garner, Terry McCarl, Davey Heskin, raig Dollansky, Dustin Selvage, Rico Abreu, Danny Lasoski, Brooke Tatnell, Don Droud Jr., Bronson Maeschen, Cole Wood, Lynton Jeffrey, Jason Johnson, Dakota Hendrickson, AJ Moeller, RJ Johnson, Mark Dobmeier, Brad Loyet

Previous articlePena Returns To Victory Lane
Next articleBabb Tames Langley Speedway
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.