Hardy Tops Rocky Mountain Finale


WEST VALLEY CITH, Utah – Five-time Maverik Modified Champion Lynn Hardy took home the Modified 100 trophy at Rocky Mountain Raceways on Saturday evening.

The hive of veteran and rookie Maverik Modified racers took to the America First Credit Union Super Oval for the final event of Rocky Mountain Raceways’ 2013 racing season. Hardy took the lead on lap 47 and survived a marathon race that had several cautions.

“This is a very special win for me because this is my first time racing this car. My crew has been working hard on it for the last two weeks,” said Hardy of his victory.

The 2013 Maverik Modified Champion Tyler Whetstone finished in second, followed by Jeffrey Webster in third, Eric Rhead in fourth and Cheyenne Torgerson rounded out the top five. Mark Ith Jr. ran a solid race, consistently running in the top five, but he suddenly slowed on the final lap with the field passing him.

After a storied season of fierce competition, Eric Rhead secured the Comcast Super Stock 2013 Championship, over defending champ Dillion Lawrence. The Comcast Super Stocks have been a crowd-pleasing class, with the point leaders bringing side-by-side action all season long. Lawrence claimed the final Comcast Super Stock main-event win with Rhead finishing in second and Tim Fahrner in third.

Rookie Winged Sprint Car driver Nick Pepe claimed his second main-event win of the 2013 season with tonight’s victory. Ryan Burdett went to bat for the lead position, but was unable to make any attempts stick. Burdett finished in second with Mel Andrus in third.