Gustin Scores At Marshalltown


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – As always the night after the Harris Clash, Marshalltown Speedway puts up extra money in the IMCA Modifieds.

Friday night, drivers battled for $1,000.

The Mod Lites 15 lap feature was out first on to the speedway and before a single lap was completed the caution came out twice. It appeared Joe Glick was going to head on to his first win but Jimmy May worked his way through and took the lead away on lap 13. May went on to take his third win of the season at Motown. Glick finished second, Terry Brown was third, Andy Hennigar was fourth and Travis Brandt was fiftth.

The 12 lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature was very exciting and intese the entire way. Steve Fricke started on the pole and led the first three laps before Eric Larson made the move to take it away on lap four. Larson’s lead was short lived as Eric Stanton made the same move to take the lead away on lap five. Stanton lead the remaining laps to take his fourth win. Larson, John Watson, Austin Luellen and Garrett Eilander rounded out the top five.

Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature was caution filled but saw several drivers hard charg their ways through the field.

The caution came again on lap seven but that also did not bother Wassenberg but the caution on lap nine did because Jared Van Deest was able to work his way by on the restart. Van Deest managed to make it through the caution on lap 11 and 14 to go on and take his third win at Motown and second in a row. Clint Luellen worked his way back through the field after the early caution to finish second. Wassenberg was third, Travis Peterson moved up four spots to finish fourth and Chad Shaw from Missouri was fifth.

Robbie Merkle jumped out early to the lead the first lap in the IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature but i was Michael Jaennette taking the lead away on lap two. Jaennette was forced to hold off Donavon Smith, Trent Murphy and Jason Minnehan to take his third win at MoTown. Trent Murphy edged out Donavon Smith for second. Jason Minnehan was fourth and Steve Meyer was fifth.

Final feature of the night was the IMCA Modifieds 25 lap feature but before a lap was completed the caution came out when Tony Snyder, Colton Osborn, Kyle Krampe and Andrew Kinser came to a stop in turns one and two. Eric Elliott lead the first lap when the race got started but the caution again came out.

Lapped traffic allowed Richie Gustin to pull a move and grabbed the lead on lap 17. Gustin lead the final eight laps to take $1,000 for his win with Larson, Wanninger, Ronn Lauritzen and Hunter Marriott rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Richie Gustin Jr.; Adam Larson; Luke Wanninger; Ronn Lauritzen;  Hunter Marriott; Racer Hulin; Eric Elliott; Colton Osborn;  Clint Homan; Kyle Brown; Joel Rust; Devon Havlik; Jake Strayer; Scott Simatovich; Eric Scribner;  Zack Rawlins; Derek Reimer; Andrew Kinser; Chris Webb; Joel Bushore; Brandon Leeman; Josh Blumer;  Rod Clement;  David Brown; Kyle Krampe; Tony Snyder