Gansen Leads Dubuque Speedway Winners


DUBUQUE, Iowa – He tossed another helmet tear off as the white flag waved.

Matt Gansen’s car made it that final lap as he won the 20-lap Merfeld Brothers Automotive IMCA Modified Season Championship feature Sunday evening at Dubuque Speedway.

“The car started to overheat and steam was hitting my faceshield,” a jubilant Gansen said in C&W Trucking / Hoker Trucking / Kam Koncepts Victory Circle. “I was using a tear off every lap. I didn’t know what was going on on the track.”

Gansen moved by early leader Jaden Fryer after several side by side laps on lap 9 and extended the advantage.

“It looked like (Fryer) was staying on the bottom and we were fast enough up top,” Gansen added. “I wasn’t sure if he would figure something else out so wanted to make the move.”

Tyler Madigan also passed Fryer late. Track champion Bryce Garnhart and Timmy Current rounded out the top five.

“It takes consistency and wins,” Garnhart said. “We put a lot of time in at the shop and I can’t thank my crew and sponsors enough.”

Tyler Soppe took the 15-lap Peosta Warehousing Logistics IMCA SportMod finale and the track title as well. Early leader Jake Murphy, Jerry Miles, Matt Stagman and Travis Fecht followed.

Cole Mather topped the K Motorsports IMCA Stock Car 10-lap Season Championship topping his title season. Reece Norton and Kyle Merkes came next.

Kaden Reynolds visited and edged Shane Oberbreckling at the finish line to take the Kinsella Concrete IMCA Hobby Stock 12-lapper. That finished off a great battle that included track champion Daniel Wauters. Brandon White and Bobby Taggart followed.

Nick Proehl won the battle of the 4 Cylinders taking the 12-lap feature. Jacob Welter was 10th but took the track title. In the feature, Tyler Shady, Adam Gates, Thomas Adams and Rick Hempstead finished 2nd through 5th.

The team of Corey Rupp and Brandon Ehrisman took the 2-Man Cruiser 12-lap feature. Adrianne Hartmann beat her car owner Hal Russell in the 20-lap INEX Legends main.