Five Winners On Davenport Dirt


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Perfect weather and more than 100 race cars put on a great show Friday at Davenport Speedway.

With a draw/re-draw format being used, number two was the golden ticket. Three of the five feature winners pulled the number two in the re-draw.

In the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models, Chuck Hanna shot out to the early lead from the pole. Matt Ryan started sixth and quickly worked his way into second. After a lap-10 restart, Ryan tried to get under Hanna coming out of turn four, but came up a little short, knocking the nose off Hanna’s car and ending his race.

Ryan was able to continue and led the remaining laps for the win. Andy Nezworski started tenth and finished second. Joe Zrostlik finished third, ahead of Dave Wada and Kelly Pestka.

Spencer Diercks dominated the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature. Diercks drew the outside pole and led every one of the 20 laps for the win. Brunson Behning was also rim-riding the high side and drove from ninth to a second-place finish. Ryan Duhme ran top-five all race long before finishing third. Mitch Morris came home in fourth with Matt Ryan fifth.

The IMCA SportMod feature began with Matt Fulton and Shane Paris in the front row. Fulton grabbed the early lead from the pole. On lap six, Paris powered into the lead and never looked back. Tyler Soppe used a last lap pass to take second from Fulton who would end up in third. Ben Chapman and Jeremy Gustaf completed the first five.

Jeff Struck Jr. led all but one of the 15 laps of the Koehler Electric Street Stock feature. Struck also drew the two in the re-draw. However it was Jesse Owen who led lap one, and had to settle for a third place finish. Nick Hixson put pressure on Struck a couple of times and ended in second. Gene Ehlers finished fourth with Jake Lund fifth.

Josh Starr started the Sport Compact main in the nine spot and drove his way into the lead on lap four. Starr drove away from the field en route to the win. Cyle Hawkins started the race last, as he arrived late. Hawkins drove through the field and finished second. Jack Fitzgibbon led laps one through three and took third. Todd Sibley and Norm Marcov finished fourth and fifth respectively.