Five Score Davenport Track Championships


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Friday marked season championship night at Davenport Speedway, and competitive finishes highlighted the evening’s slate of races.

The top 10 were lined up by points for the feature, with the point leader in each class offered the back-row challenge for a chance to win double the money.

One driver accepting the challenge was Justin Kay in the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature. He had little to lose, as he had already clinched the track title. However Kay’s race would end early with mechanical issues.

Nate Bueseling blasted out to an early lead, which he held until lap 12. Brunson Behning owned the point until Mike Murphy Jr. got under Behning for the lead. Murphy led the final six laps to make his third trip to victory lane this season. Behning held on for second, just ahead of Buesleling, Todd Malmstrom, and Matt Ryan.

The closest points battle coming into the night was in the Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified division, where 4 drivers were separated by only 25 points. Doug Crampton and Mitch Morris started in the front row, with Morris taking the early advantage. In fact, Morris would go on to lead all 20 laps and take his first win of the season.

Joe Beal battled his way to a second place finish, just ahead of Bob Dominacki. Rich Smith and Tony VonDresky completed the top five. Doug Crampton’s seventh place finish was just enough to give him his third track title at Davenport Speedway.

Donnie Louck used his point lead to start on the pole, lead every lap, and capture his third Koehler Electric Street Stock feature win of the season. He also claimed his first Davenport Speedway track championship. Kevin Dickey raced to a second-place finish, followed by Keith Blum in third and Perry Gellerstedt fourth. Cary Brown was forced to borrow a car to make the feature. He finished fifth.

Bryce Garnhart had his sights on national points and elected to start the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod main from the pole. Bryce would lead all fifteen laps en route to his sixth feature win of the season and his second straight championship at Davenport Speedway. Jayson Wiggins had a strong run in second. Jake Morris, Jacob Beal, and Jared Miller completed the top five.

Brandon Dahl accepted the back row challenge in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock feature. That gave Jake Benischek and Andy Loy, who were tied for second in points, the front row starting spots. Benischek would lead lap one, with Loy taking over on lap two. Zach Dahl would get a fender advantage over Loy on lap nine, but Andy came back to lead the final three laps and take his third win of the season. Zach Dahl finished second with Jake and Luke Benischek third and fourth respectively. Brandon Dahl finished fifth and secured his first track championship at Davenport Speedway.

The finish:

Mike Murphy Jr., Brunson Behning, Nate Bueseling, Todd Malmstrom, Matt Ryan, Mike Zemo Jr., Stephan Kammerer, LeRoy Brenner, Chuck Hanna, Kyle Neels, Duane Christisen, Marty Scheckel, D.J. Burke, Trevor Muilenburg, Marty Diercks, Justin Kay


Previous articleKENNEDY: California Coast
Next articleGustin Saves His Best For Last is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.