Ferris Steals Wheatland ULMA Spoils

Larry Ferris in victory lane at Lucas Oil Speedway. (Kenny Shaw photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. – Larry Ferris took over the lead with eight laps to go and went on to victory in Friday’s Warsaw Auto Marine & RV ULMA feature, taking home $1,000.

The ULMA Late Models will have another full program on Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway, with $2,000 going to the winner.

Ferris rallied from a 10th-starting position and finished 1.09 seconds in front of fellow Nevada, Missouri, driver Johnny Fennewald who roared from 17th to second. Todd McCoin of Barnett was third.

“I knew I had a good car at the start of the race,” Ferris said. “We just kept picking them off one by one and got kind of bogged up in the middle of the race and we had that yellow. It was just what I needed.”

The race opened up when the front three – Dylan Hoover, Todd Shute and Kaeden Cornell – were waging a battle for the lead after a lap-16 restart when, after Cornell went from third to first, they got together in turn four.

That brought out a caution and ended the night for each of them.

“It’s been a while, especially over here. Those guys are pretty good,” Ferris said when asked if he’d seen a situation like what happened ahead of him. “It usually doesn’t happen like that.”

Lucas Cattle Company ULMA points leader Aaron Marrant started 21st, but rallied to finish sixth. He began the night 54 points in front of Henson, who wound up 18th.

The finish:

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 51-Larry Ferris, 32:33.978[10]; 2. 21-Johnny Fennewald, 32:35.075[17]; 3. 7X-Todd McCoin, 32:42.352[7]; 4. 15S-Shane Essary, 32:42.675[11]; 5. 1X-Aaron Marrant, 32:43.697[21]; 6. 74-Jon Melloway, 32:45.065[15]; 7. 1T-Tucker Cox, 32:46.516[20]; 8. 7J-Ryan Johnson, 32:25.181[13]; 9. 96-Dalton Imhoff, 32:50.075[12]; 10. (DNF) 66T-Matt Becker, 32:42.618[19]; 11. (DNF) 15-John Aitken, 32:49.297[22]; 12. (DNF) 27-Derek Henson, 31:35.568[16]; 13. (DNF) 17-Daniel Jessen, 30:02.229[18]; 14. (DNF) 99-Dylan Hoover, 19:19.506[2]; 15. (DNF) 5-Todd Shute, 19:20.862[1]; 16. (DNF) 50-Kaeden Cornell, 19:21.349[3]; 17. (DNF) 31C-Cole Henson, 19:22.656[4]; 18. (DNF) 42H-Chad Richwine, 19:36.302[6]; 19. (DNF) OX-Jason Sivils, 19:03.668[23]; 20. (DNF) 16R-Rick Browm, 17:12.052[5]; 21. (DNF) 42L-Lane Ehlert, 09:42.718[9]; 22. (DNF) 16-Ashlee Lancaster, 09:45.174[14]; 23. (DNF) 6-Bob Cummings, 02:19.331[24]; (DQ) 0X-Justin Russell, 32:35.219[8]