Droste Finds Marshalltown Victory Lane


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – From the drop of the green to the finish of the night there was great three, four and sometimes five wide racing, every fan in attendance definitely got their money worth.

A couple of youngster in Sam Wieben and Tyler Droste got their first win of the season at MoTown along with Donavon Smith meanwhile Merv Chandler, Eric Larson and Josh May all repeat. Also a Modified King of the Hill and a Stock Car Australian Pursuit was added to the card.

John Gill lead the opening lap in the IMCA Sport Compacts feature before David Moorman grabbed the lead away on lap two. Moorman and Merv Chandler then battled for the lead with Chandler grabbing it away on lap four. Chandler cruised on to the win and David Moorman finished second. Gill, Chad Larson and Duayne Herb round out the top five.

In the Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lites it was Charlie Brown grabbing the lead and appeared he was going to take the win until lap traffic slowed him down late in the race and that allowed Josh May, Randy Bryan, Jimmy May and Mike Morrill to chase him down. Josh May grabbed the lead coming to the white flag and went on to take the win. Brown finished second, Bryan was third, Morrill got by Jimmy May for fourth.

Kevin Fee grabbed the lead in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but again lap traffic become a problem late in the race. This set up a very exciting final three laps as the lap car spun in front of Fee resulting in Fee spinning in turn two. Brice Udelhoven took the lead on lap ten when that happen on the last lap Udelhoven made contact with Eric Stanton and Garrett Eilander had no where to go. Stanton kept going and raced Eric Larson to the checkered, Larson got the win with Stanton in second. Benji Irvine, Bill Bonnett and Austin Luellen finished third through fifth.

Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds saw David Brown lead the first four laps before a caution waved when Ronn Lauritzen and Luke Wanninger got together in turn one. On the restart it was Tyler Droste grabbing the lead away. Droste and the field saw the caution wave again for debris on lap twelve but Droste was not to be denied even after a challenge from Cayden Carter. Droste beat Cayden Carter to the checkered, Lauritzen came back up to finish third, Randy Havlik was fourth and Dan Chapman was fifth.

Before a single lap was completed in the Amsoil IMCA Stock Cars feature the caution waved but once the race got going it was Derek Reimer grabbing the early lead. Reimer lead even when the caution waved again after two laps was completed. Reimer however saw Steve Meyer and Scott Pippert right behind him and Meyer grabbed the lead away on lap five.

Meanwhile Donavon Smith worked his way up through the field after starting twelveth. Smith grabbed the lead away on lap nine and took the win. Brian Irvine worked his way from eleventh to second. Meyer was third, Reimer was fourth and Damon Murty was fifth.

The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods feature saw Neil Follett lead the first lap before Sam Wieben grabbed the lead away on lap two. Wieben seem so calm out front despite the cautions coming out. First caution came out on lap four when Gatlin Leytham lost the handle in turn one.

Wieben held off Follett and Jared Van Deest on the restart as he did again on the restart after the cautions on lap five, twelve and fourteen. Wieben went on to take his first win of the season at MoTown. Shawn Albers got his best finish by coming home in the runner-up spot. Van Deest was third, Ben Kates was fourth and Joel Rust, who was involved in the caution on lap five worked his way back up to finish fifth.

The IMCA Modifieds ran a King of the Hill just like the Stock Cars did the week before and it was Cayden Carter, Kyle Brown and Ronn Lauritzen winning the first round. Cayden Carter beat Kyle Brown to advance on to the final to face Ronn Lauritzen. Lauritzen cashed in the extra hundred dollars to win the King of the Hill.

Final event of the night was the Stock Car Australian Pursuit, which is if you are passed you are eliminated. Curt Hook started out front but was passed by Brian Irvine. Damon Murty started fifth and passed Michael Jaennette and Scott Pippert on lap two eliminating them. Irvine lead all eight laps to take the win meanwhile Murty finish second and Steve Meyer end up third.

Previous articleDavenport Crowns 2013 Champions
Next articleWOO: Castrol Raceway Night 1
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.