Docekal Is Davenport SportMod King


DAVENPORT, Iowa — Racers and fans at the Davenport Speedway looked to see who would emerge as champion in the sixth annual SportMod Challenge. Racers from three states put on a great show, while competing for the title and $2,000 payday.

The 50-lap main event started with Troy Bauer taking the lead from a front row starting spot. After a lap eleven restart, Dalton Simonsen made a bid for the lead on the high side. As Bauer moved up to block the move, Tony Olson dove to the bottom and took away the lead. Olson, the 2016 SportMod Challenge winner, would lead the next 30 laps.

The race’s final restart on lap 44, allowed Joe Docekal to drive around Olson for lead. Docekal led the remaining laps for the win.

Gage Neal also passed Olson in the final laps to finish second. Olson held on for third. Brayton Carter finished fourth, and Simonsen fifth.

In the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action, the 25-lap feature started with Andy Nezworski making a bold move up the center to take the early lead. Last week’s winner Chuck Hanna tracked Nezworski down, passed him for the lead, and collected his second straight win. Nezworski held on for second with Joe Ross third. Matt Ryan and Joe Zrostlik rounded out the top five

The Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature saw Jason Pershy lead one lap before Bob Dominacki jumped out to the lead. Dominacki dominated the middle portion of the race. A caution flag with a handful of laps to go put Austin Moyer and Eric Barnes on Dominacki’s rear bumper.

One lap later, Barnes in the No. 1 and Moyer in the No. 1m made Dominacki the meat in the sandwich. Both No. 1 cars would go by the leader. Moyer with the inside groove, would take the and the win, when the race ended with yellow checkers. Barnes was scored in second with Bruce Hanford third. Fourth was Mitch Morris with Jason Pershy fifth.

Nick Hixson put his race car in the winner’s circle in Koehler Electric Street Stock action.