Davenport Kicks Off New Season


DAVENPORT, Iowa — Friday night was a busy evening of racing at the Davenport Speedway, as the race track hosted the Koehler Electric Season Opener.

In addition to the five weekly classes being in action, there were two make-up features from April 6th, to be run.

Ray Guss Jr., proved once again that he is the man to beat in the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model class. Polesitter, Spencer Diercks, and Andy Nezworski swapped the lead a couple of times before a lap six restart, when Guss shot out into the lead. Once he was in the lead, Guss would have smooth sailing all the way to the checkered flag.

Mike Murphy Jr. put in a sold run, moving from the seventh starting spot to finish second. Justin Kay took third, over Mike Zemo Jr. and Nezworski. Kay, LeRoy Brenner, and Chuck Hanna won the late model heats.

Defending track champion, Doug Crampton, started out 2013 in fine fashion, as he captured the first checkered flag of the year in the EMS IMCA Modified division. Crampton inherited the lead of the 20-lap feature, after early race leader Thad Wilson spun in turn four. Despite a late race challenge from Kelly Meyer, Crampton would hold on for the win.

Meyer would finish in the runner-up spot, with Tony VonDresky third. Brian Webb and Craig Crawford finished fourth and fifth respectively.

It was new year, same song for Jeremy Marquette as he picked off the win in the Koehler Electric Street Stock main. Marquette grabbed the race lead from Perry Gellerstadt before halfway and never looked back. Gellerstadt would hold on for second with Dan Anderson making a strong run to finish third. Kevin Dickey and Rob Henry rounded out the top five.

Jarrett Franzen captured the first-ever Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod points race. Franzen had a back and forth battle going with Dan Mohr throughout the race, before taking the checkers and the victory. Mohr would finish second, ahead of Andy Wagener, Jake Morris and Brandon Jewell.

Aaron Hitt continued his winning ways, as he won the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock feature. Mitch Bielenberg came from deep in the field to take second. Jake Ellithorpe, Jake Benischek, and Terry Kolsrud were all in the top five.

The two make-up features from April 6th, were won by Aaron Hitt in the 4-Stocks and Ben Chapman in the SportMod class.