Davenport Daily Doubles


DAVENPORT, Iowa — Friday was Mid-Season Championship Night at the Davenport Speedway.

Point leaders in each class were given the option, of a Back Row Challenge, to start at the rear and earn double the money for a victory. Three of the five point leaders opted for a chance at the extra cash.

It didn’t take long for someone to hit the daily double. Jeremy Marquette did it in the first feature of the evening, for the Koehler Electric Street Stocks. Marquette blistered his way through the field, making it to third place by the completion of lap five. Taking the lead would take a little longer.

Perry Gellerstedt had taken the lead of the 15-lap main from the drop of the green and led to the white flag. On the final lap, Marquette pulled ahead on the backstretch and was first to the line by a car-length.

Gellerstedt was second, with Nate Yoerger finishing third. Donnie Louck and Cary Brown rounded out the top five.

Mitch Morris led flag-to-flag in the EMS IMCA Modified feature. Mitch started third and wasted no time in going to the front. With nothing but clear track ahead of him, Morris sailed to his first victory of the season at Davenport.

A tight battle for the second spot would go to Tony VonDresky, over Jason Bahrs and Bob Dominacki. Doug Crampton was fifth.

In the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature, point leader Ray Guss Jr. accepted the challenge and started the 25-lap feature 22nd. At the drop of the green, pole sitter Justin Kay sprinted to the lead. Kay would get away to a big lead, while a handful of racers battled for the next three places.

A bunch of cautions, even one with two laps to go, would keep bringing the field back to Kay’s rear bumper. Justin passed each test, maintaining his lead, and being first to the checkered flag. The victory was his second of the season.

Matt Ryan would emerge from the pack to secure the second spot with Stephan Kammerer taking third. Mike Zemo Jr. came from eleventh starting spot to finish fourth. Guss put on a show for the fans, moving up to the fifth place by the race’s end.

Aaron Hitt also accepted the challenge in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stocks. Jason Blocker jumped to the early lead with Gage Neal and Mitch Bielenberg close behind. Bielenberg used a lap four restart to make a move for the lead. The lead was his for only a couple laps, as Jake Ellithorpe was charging to the front.

Ellithorpe took control on lap six and led the rest of the way to the checkers. Bielenberg held on for second, with Brandon Dahl taking third. Hitt would fall short, finishing in fourth, while Gage Neal completed the first five.

Bryce Garnhart captured his second points win of the season in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod division. Garnhart held the early race lead, but gave it up to Dustin Crear on lap eight. Garnhart went back ahead on lap 13 and drove on the win. Crear finished a close second, with Ben Chapman third. Ricky Kay and Kevin Schroeder finished fourth and fifth respectively.