Dahl Scores At Davenport


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Racing returned to the Davenport Speedway on Friday, highlighted by the 4-Stock Nationals, with a 50-lap feature paying $2,000 to win. For the second straight year, the race winner was determined in post-race inspection.

The main event started with outside pole sitter Zach Dahl taking the early lead. Dahl led seven laps before Joe Zrostlik took the lead. Zrostlik pulled out to a sizeable lead, before his car suddenly slowed on lap 23.

Wisconsin’s Jay Orr, who won a semi-feature to make the main, was next to take the lead. Orr would lead the rest of the way to the checkered flag, followed closely by Zach Dahl. However, Orr was disqualified in post-race inspection.

The victory was given to Zach Dahl. Zach’s brother, Brandon Dahl, was credited with second, with Andy Loy third and Aaron Hitt fourth. Josh Barnes, who started the race as an alternate, completed the top five.

Heat race wins went to Loy, Zrostlik, Gage Neal, and Dustin Forbes. Lucas Short won the other semi-feature.

Mike Murphy Jr. picked up his second Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model win of the season. Murphy led just the final three laps of the race en route to the victory.

The feature started with Stephan Kammerer leading laps one and two. Joe Zrostlik took the lead on lap three, however a caution flag on lap four was for the leader, and Zrostlik was sent to the rear.

Kammerer retook the lead on the restart and led until lap sixteen. Matt Ryan was next to hold the point. His lead lasted until lap 23, when Murphy completed his pass for the lead. Following Murphy to the checkers were Ryan in second and Justin Kay in third. Nate

Bueseling and Brunson Behning were fourth and fifth.

Chris Zogg scored win number four in the Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified main. Zogg took the lead from Milo Veloz Jr. on lap 13, and never looked back.

Mitch Morris finished second with Veloz hanging on for third. Kelly Meyer and Joe Beal completed the top five. Modified heat wins went to Morris, Todd Dykema, and Bob Dominacki.

Randy Lamar became the ninth different driver to win a Koehler Electric Street Stock feature in 2014. Lamar led all fifteen laps on his way to victory lane. The race was slowed only once by caution. Steve Jackson started tenth and finished second. Kevin Dickey took third, with Rick Schriner fourth and Cary Brown fifth.

The finish:

Zach Dahl, Brandon Dahl, Andy Loy, Aaron Hitt, Josh Barnes, Justin Schroeder,  Cody Brundage, Michael Grossman,  Allen Morris, Gage Neal, Dustin Forbes,  Lucas Short, Shawn Pappas, Eric Stogdell, Joe Zrostlik, Brannon Bechen, Jason Blocker, Austen Becerra, Jake Benischek, Jay Orr