Clay Is Money In Dodge City Modified Mayhem

Clay Money was the winner of the IMCA Sport Modified Mayhem feature at Dodge City Raceway Park. (TWC Photo)
Clay Money was the winner of the IMCA Sport Modified Mayhem feature at Dodge City Raceway Park. (TWC Photo)
Clay Money was the winner of the IMCA Sport Modified Mayhem feature at Dodge City Raceway Park. (TWC Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Clay Money stepped up to the occasion by racing to a $1,000 victory in Saturday night’s inaugural 30-lap Sport Modified Mayhem feature event atop the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

The high school junior from Penokee, Kan., battled past Kameron Gruber for the lead on the 14th lap then kept reigning track champion Jeff Kaup at bay over the final ten circuits to secure his second IMCA Sport Modified feature win of the year at DCRP over a stout field of 33 competitors.

While Money cashed in against the Sport Mod ranks, Clay Sellard bested the IMCA Modifieds for his second Dodge City score of the year, Ron Hartman wired the field for his first IMCA Stock Car triumph, Matt O’Hair took over the Thunder Car points lead with his second score of the year and Jarett Lunow remained perfect in the Hornet ranks with his seventh win in as many tries.

With Money gridding the Sport Modified Mayhem main event outside the third row, Gruber outgunned Michael Shenberger to snare the early lead from the pole position.

Money made his way to third behind Gruber and Angel Munoz by the time the first caution flew after four laps and then took second from Munoz on the eighth circuit.

Money wasted little time closing the gap on Great Band’s Gruber in short order and began pressuring for the point, finally squeezing underneath in turn three on the 14th round to edge into the lead.

Following a caution at the midway point, Kaup slipped by Gruber and set his sights on Money for the point. Money’s ten car-length advantage dwindled down to just a couple of car-lengths with five laps to go.

But Money picked up the pace in the final handful of laps, opening the advantage back to ten car-lengths by the time the checkered flag flew.

Woodward’s Kaup settled for second with Ellis, KS, shoe Daniel Gottschalk taking command of third on the 20th round when Brandon Smith looped it in turn four and held it the rest of the way. Austin Walker was fourth with Gruber rounding out the top five.

Josh Appel was sixth with Blaine Walt, Brandon Smith, Dustin Leonard and Toby Witthuhn completing the top ten.

In the 20-lap IMCA Modified main event, Bucklin’s Clay Sellard emerged from a multi-car battle for the point on the second lap and led the rest of the way for his second win of the year.

Sellard kept Ryan Heger at bay throughout with Mike Lunow, Cole Traugott and Jesse Smith completing the top five. With his runner-up finish, Heger cut 13th-place finisher Austin Allen’s points lead down to 13 points with just the September 27 Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event remaining.

In the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, Ulysses’ Ron Hartman took the lead from his front row outside starting position at the outset then held off Randy Dowell to take his first DCRP win of the year.

After switching to a back-up car, Michael Pepper rallied from the tail to take third behind Hartman and Dowell with Brandon Fisher and points leader Perry Misner rounding out the top five.

After Dan Rogers paced the opening two rounds of the 15-lap Thunder Car feature, William Bauer took command and had his sights set on his first win of the year only to have Laverne, Oklahoma’s Matt O’Hair charge into the lead on the eighth round.

O’Hair raced on to his second score of the year ahead of Bauer, taking a 5-point advantage over Bauer into the season finale in the process. Edwin Elliott took the show position with Rogers and Billy Phelps rounding out the top five.

In Hornet action on the inner asphalt oval, Dodge City’s Jarett Lunow battled into the lead on the opening round and went on to his seventh consecutive win ahead of Kohl Ricke and Marci O’Hair.