Cheater Races Highlight Davenport Action


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Friday was Night of Destruction at the Davenport Speedway. Cheater Races were held for the Modified, Street Stock, SportMod, and 4-Stock classes.

The featured event of the evening was the crowd favorite, the Trailer Race.

In a hotly contested Modified feature, Tony VonDresky took home a victory. Tony grabbed the lead from Ray Cox Jr., amidst a rash of cautions that dominated the first six laps. Once in front, VonDresky would go unchallenged to the checkered flag. Joe Beal had a strong run, coming from a sixth row start, to finish second. Brandon Durbin started near the front, went to the back after an early problem, and raced his way back to a third place finish. Dustin Schram and Josh Starr were fourth and fifth respectively.

Jeremy Marquette did it again in the Street Stock main. Marquette roared away from his second row starting position and led all 15 laps of the race. Rob Henry would finish a distant second, with Steve Gustaf Sr. taking third. Tim Hazen and Bryan Ritter rounded out the top five.

Andy Wagener set the pace in the 4-Stock division. Wagener won both the heat and feature in the 4-Stock class. Aaron Hitt finished second in the feature, followed by Andy Loy, Zach Dahl, and Allen Morris.

Mike McGarry won the SportMod main. Kory Meyer took second. Matt Short was third. Andre LaPorte and Kevin Schroeder rounded out the field.

As always, the Trailer Race was a real crowd pleaser. The dozen entries provided plenty of excitement, including three rollovers. When the smoke cleared, the fans choose Kevin O’tool as the winner, over Harold Hill and Bill Phipps. Ray Daily Jr. and his “Party Bus” won the award for most unique entry.

Previous articleSheppard Has Belle-Clair Figured Out
Next articleWOO: Clay County Fair Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.