Champions Decided On Independence Dirt


INDEPENDENCE, Iowa – The season finale for Independence Motor Speedway on Saturday marked the end of the points chase for the year for six division, four of which are IMCA sanctioned

Late model drivers contested a non-point show after Curt Martin won that title the prior Saturday.

Three divisions featured close title chases, one not as much and another pair of titles were already decided.

The Northern sport mod finale was dramatic when Tony Olson restarted 11th after getting caught up in a lap-six melee while his challenger, Kip Siems, was in second.

While Tory Bauer was leading all the way for a win, the No. T23 of Olson moved forward to close on Siems and guard his one point lead.

Olson was two spots behind Siems with two laps remaining, but when Siems slipped to third and Olson finished fourth, a tie resulted. Olson held a three to one edge in wins and won the title.

Stock car racing was even more dramatic as leader Leah Wroten led by two points over Tom Schmitt. The champion would have been six-time winner, Cole Mather, but a tire infraction led to losing all of his points.

With 10 laps scored, Worten spun a car and was sent to the rear well back of Schmitt.  Wroten raced her way back to a fourth at the line while Schmitt took second, creating another tie.

Wroten was named the champion on tiebreaker and the division rookie had the title. Phil Holtz won the main to claim his first victory in five years.

The compact title was locked up by Alicia Steepleton before the green waved. David Malik grabbed his first win with a strong run.

Mod lite racing went down to the wire when Chad Dugan held off Cole McNeal for the win and Matt Dugan won the title by one point.

Kaden Reynolds had a lock on the title in hobby stocks and Marcus Wayne won his first main event.

The hobby stocks had as many as seven cars running in the lead pack and Wayne emerged from the cluster on the final lap to win his first race.

In modified racing, Jeff Aikey drove under Kollin Gibson on the top of turns three and four to add to his point margin for a title and a win. Amazingly, despite a long and successful career, this was Aikey’s first Independence title.

The late models finished the evening and Sean Johnson led the final eight laps for his third consecutive win.