Busy Night At Marshalltown


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – There was great three, four and five-wide racing Friday night at the Central Iowa Fair.

The first feature of the night was the Mod Lites 15 lap feature and it was Mike Kennedy grabbing the lead on lap one. Shortly after the completion of lap one, Josh May experienced problems in turn two forcing the caution to come out. On the restart, Andy Hennigar took the lead away from Kennedy. Hennigar went on to take his third win of the season at Motown.

Mike Morrill came home in second, Jimmy May was third, Eric Hendrickson was fourth and Charlie Brown was fifth.

The 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature was eventful. Vince Buchholz led lap one but it was Keystone’s Matt Pohlman taking it away on lap two. The caution came out when Andy Peck came to a stop in turn two and on the restart, Pohlman had to contend with Buchholz and Tyson Overton.

Overton worked his way to the top spot on lap four but that was short lived as Austin Luellen held it on lap five. Overton took it back on lap six but then a three car battle that included Overton, Luellen and Eric Larson. Larson grabbed the top spot on lap seven but it was Luellen taking it back with two laps to go. Luellen took his fifth win of the season. Larson, Dustin Elliott, Overton and John Watson rounded out the top five.

The Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature did not disappoint the fans but before a single lap was completed the caution came out when Siraj Thomason spun in turn two. Rookie Jake McBirnie took the top spot early but the caution came out again on lap two, this time for Andy Tiernan going off the top of turn three.

That handed the lead over to Jared Van Deest and the he led the final two laps to take his second win of the year at Motown. Sam Wieben worked his way from 14th to second, Neil Follett was third, Travis Peterson was fourth and Jared Timmerman was fifth.

Robbie Merkle lead the first lap in the IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature. Dave Atcher grabbed the lead away and began to pull away meanwhile behind him they were racing three and four wide several times. Atcher was not to be denied his second consecutive win. Donavon Smith worked his way to second, Steve Meyer, Michael Jaennette and Damon Murty rounded out the top five.

The final feature of the night was the IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature but before a lap was completed the caution came out when Jake Strayer got sideways and collecting Kyle Krampe and Luke Wanninger.

Snyder took the lead away on lap 15 and then on lap 17, Snyder saw Ronn Lauritzen battle it out for the lead. Snyder appeared to have the momentum as he went on to take the win over Lauritzen, Elliott, Bushore and Joel Rust.

The finish:

Jon Snyder; Ronn Lauritzen; Eric Elliott; Joel Bushore; Joel Rust; Luke Wanninger; Scott Simatovich; Josh Pruitt; Zack Rawlins; Kyle Krampe; Trent Jackson; Andrew Kinser; Josh Barta; Chris Mills; Rod Clement; Jake Strayer