Busy Night At Davenport


DAVENPORT, Iowa — With two make-up features, a full racing program, and the Midwest Jalopies, it surely was a full night of racing at the Davenport Speedway.

The evening started with the Street Stock make-up feature from June 29th. The race restarted with four laps complete and Scott Griffin leading the way. Griffin would lead the remaining laps and take his first victory of the year. It would not be his last.

Jeremy Marquette got close to the leader, but would have to settle for second. Keith Blum ran a strong third, with Joe Bonney fourth and Josh Starr fifth.

The IMCA Late Model make-up feature was next. Davenport racer Jeff Stevens used the outside pole and a still tacky track to his advantage as he led all 25 laps for the win. Ray Guss Jr., came from the eighth starting spot to finish second. Joe Ross finished third, just ahead of Stephan Kammerer and Andy Nezworski.

When it came to this Friday’s racing program, each class seemed to have a dominant car. In the EMS IMCA Modifieds, it was ‘the Dominator’ Bob Dominacki. Bob started seventh, and had the lead by the end of lap two. Dominacki held the top spot through five cautions and all the way to the checkers.

A dandy battle for second eventually went to Mitch Morris, over Thad Wilson. Brian Bushong ran in the top five all race long and finished fourth. Doug Crampton rounded out the top five.

The Roto-Rooter 4 Stock main saw Mitch Bielenberg pick up his third feature win of the point season. Bielenberg grabbed the lead from Kyle Rhoads on lap three, en route to the win. Jake Ellithorpe and Ricky Kay both started in the fourth row and would finish second and third respectively. Gage Neal finished fourth with Aaron Hitt completing the first five.

Scott Griffin took up where he left off in the Koehler Electric Street Stocks. Griffin started third, but would lead all fifteen laps for his second feature win of the night. Emily Gade finished second, a strightaway behind Griffin. Jeremy Marquette took third, with Dwaine Hasson fourth, and Keith Blum fifth.

The final race of the evening was the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model main. Doug Nigh jumped to the early lead from the pole. After a lap nine restart, Ray Guss Jr. found enough grip on the high side to take the lead away from Nigh. That grip went away quickly and Nigh regained the lead on lap 16. The ‘Maquoketa Missile’ would lead the rest of the way to the checkers, for his first win of the year at Davenport.

Guss held on for second, with Mike Murphy Jr. third. Matt Ryan took fourth, with Mike Zemo Jr. fifth.

The Midwest Jalopies made their final Davenport Speedway appearance of the 2012 season. Doug Picray won the feature. Bob Mingst finished second, with Dennis Blunt third.



Previous articleJohnson Conquers Brewerton
Next articleMackey & Mitchell Rule Deming
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.