Bubak Rocks Dodge City Sprint Go

Jake Bubak stands in victory lane after winning the United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park Friday. (Lonnie Wheatley Photo)
Jake Bubak stands in victory lane after winning the United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park Friday. (Lonnie Wheatley Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – With more than 120 cars filling the pit area, Jake Bubak and Grant Junghans were among the victors at Dodge City Raceway Park as the three-eighths-mile clay oval hosted a special Friday night card that coincided with the opening day of Dodge City Days.

While Bubak topped the URSS Sprint Car feature and Junghans claimed the $1,000 IMCA Modified winner’s share, other winners included Mike Wadel in the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Nick Tubbs in the IMCA Stock Cars, Scott Messino in the Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars and Brandon Sprott in the Hornets.

With current URSS National points leader Bubak gridding the 25-lap feature field inside the second row, Keefe Hemel and Zach Blurton led the way to the green flag. Blurton paced the opening circuit before Hemel battled back into the top spot and paced the ensuing rounds ahead of Blurton, Luke Cranston and Bubak.

With heavy traffic in play at the midway point, Cranston took advantage by racing past both Blurton and Hemel for the lead down the backstretch on the 13th round with Bubak right on his heels into second.

Bubak, the 17-year-old from Colorado, slipped under Cranston for the lead on the 16th round and led the rest of the way for his second career series win. Ray Seemann made a late move to snare runner-up honors, with Cranston settling for the show position.

Hemel and Jason Martin rounded out the top five, with Blurton, Jared Kern, URSS Kansas points leader Brian Herbert, Jeff Radcliffe and Kaden Taylor completing the top ten.

Junghans started fourth in the 25-lap IMCA Modified main event and spent the early laps chasing pole starter Cody Gearhart along with Brendon Gemmill and then David ninth-starter David Murray.

Junghans finally slipped around Gearhart for the point on the seventh round, with Murray moving into second soon after only to slow with mechanical woes seven laps short of the checkered flag. Gearhart and fast-closing “B” Main winner Jon Hansen closed in on Junghans over the final laps but were unable to mount a serious challenge for the $1,000 winner’s share.

Junghans crossed the stripe ahead of Gearhart and Hansen, with Brendon Gemmill and Troy Gemmill rounding out the top five.

In the 15-lap United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified feature, Josh Appel charged from his fifth starting position into the lead on the opening lap. Seventh-starter Mike Wadel followed Appel to the front and began challenging for the point.

With Appel on the low side and Wadel up top, the pair traded the lead several times before Wadel finally got the edge with a half dozen laps to go and slipped away for his second win of the year in front of J. Appel, Mike Appel, Blane Walt and Jeremy Sigler.

Scott Messino picked up his first Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car feature win by crossing the stripe first after a wild skirmish off the final corner of the 15-lapper. After taking the lead away from Randle McRoberts on the second lap, Cody Davis led most of the way as the lead pack raced in tight formation most of the way.

Nick Tubbs raced around Shannon Maughlin on the seventh round en route to his first 15-lap IMCA Stock Car win of the year at DCRP.

Tubbs took the checkered flag ahead of Maughlin, with current points leader Perry Misner rallying from deep in the field to take third after suffering heat race problems. Rod Wadel and Billy Phelps rounded out the top five.

Dan Rogers made a charge for the lead on the final lap and edged ahead, only to spin exiting turn four after contact. Messino took quick advantage and flashed under the checkered flag for his first win of the year. Justin Walker was credited with second, with W.D. Matteson, McRoberts and Toby Schield rounding out the top five.

Brandon Sprott picked off his third Hornet win of the year in last-lap fashion as well. After chasing older brother Derrick Sprott throughout, the Sprotts suddenly found themselves second and third as Tristan Barton charged by on the white flag lap. But turn two trouble for Barton opened the door for the younger Sprott who raced to the stripe in front of D. Sprott, Dewayne Bowman, Kenneth O’Hair and Jarred Nightengale.