Behning Tames Davenport Late Models


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Brunson Behning took advantage of a timely caution flag and scored his first IMCA late model victory at the Davenport Speedway on Friday.

Behning took the lead of the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature from Chuck Hanna on lap four.

Justin Kay made a late race charge passing both Guss and Mike Murphy Jr. to finish second. Guss came home third, followed by Murphy and Joe Zrostlik.

Doug Crampton was the winner in an exciting Milan Heating & Air IMCA Modified main. Rich Smith jumped out to the early lead of the 20-lap race. Smith and Brian Bushong would swap the lead several times throughout the first 13 laps. After starting in the sixth row, Crampton finally saw the lead on lap fourteen. Doug would lead the rest of the way to the checkers for his second win of the season.

Tony VonDresky finished in the runner-up spot, with Bushong holding on for third. Joe Beal and Bob Dominacki completed the top five.

Koehler Electric Street Stock action saw Cary Brown take his second feature win of the season. The street stock feature started with three different drivers leading the first three laps. Randy Lamar settled into the lead and survived a couple restarts until lap seven. Mike Anderson held the point until lap twelve when Brown used the low groove to take the lead. A caution on the final lap put Mike Anderson second, Randy Lamar third, and Rick Schriner fourth.

Nick Claussen recovered from a mid-race incident to finish fifth.

The Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMods did double-duty starting with a make-up feature from last week. Bryce Garnhart started fifth and jumped into the lead on lap three, on the way to his fourth feature win of the season. Jacob Beal raced to a second place finish, followed by Henry Carson, Joe Grant, and Jake Morris, in that order.

It was nearly a repeat in this week’s race. This time Garnhart started ninth, and took the lead on lap seven, after a restart. Bryce went on to capture his second win of the night and fifth of the season. Jared Miller led the first six laps of the race held on for second. Doug Burkhead, Jake Morris, and Henry Carson completed the top five.

Zach Dahl scored his first point victory of the season in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock main. Zach took the lead following a lap seven restart and never looked back. Brandon Dahl finished second with Tristin Clark third. Luke and Jake Benischek were fourth and fifth respectively.

The finish:

Brunson Behning, Justin Kay, Ray Guss Jr., Mike Murphy Jr., Joe Zrostlik, Nate Bueseling, Spencer Diercks, Chuck Hanna, Matt Ryan, Todd Malmstrom, Mike Zemo Jr., Shaune Lewis, Cory Goldbeck, Marty Diercks, eRoy Brenner, Trevor Muilenburg

Previous articleDecker Hangs On To Brewerton Win
Next articleHaseleu Makes It Three In A Row is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.