Abelson Claims 23rd Harris Clash


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Chris Abelson won the 23rd annual Harris Clash for modifieds on Thursday night at the Knoxville Raceway.

Abelson, from Sioux City, Iowa, started 17th on the grid after winning the first of four B-Main’s and then worked his way through the field to claim the $2,000 winner’s prize. Abelson had climbed into the top five by lap 10 and used a restart on lap 16 to work by the leaders Aaron Turnbull, Mike VanGenderen and Kurt Kile before grabbing the lead on lap 19 of the 25 lap race.

The race was slowed by five cautions, most notable was a crash on lap four that involved several contenders, including Colt Mather, Jesse Sobbing, Eric Dailey and the two-time defending event champion Kyle Strickler. Strickler’s team was able to make repairs during the lengthy red flag and restart at the tail and raced their way back to fifth.

Second-place driver Turnbull was light at the scales and was disqualified, giving the runner-up position to VanGenderen and third to Kile.

The 20 lap $1,000-to-win Sport Mod feature was won in dominating fashion by Brett Lowery, who would beat second place Cody Olson by four seconds. Winning the Dirt Truck was feature was Tony Moro, who last month was inducted into the Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame. It was Moro’s fifth career Dirt Truck win at Knoxville Raceway.