Parker Claims Maverik Modified Win


WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah – Nick Parker had a strong presence at Rocky Mountain Raceway’s season opener on Saturday.

Parker gained an early lead in the 50-lap Maverik Modified main, and maintained his position for the win. Tyler Whetstone, the defending Maverik Modified champion, edged out second ahead of Shawn Price. Whetstone and Price had several side-by-side encounters for the second position, but Whetstone made the final pass on the inside for second place. Price finished in third with James Larsen in fourth and Eric Rhead in fifth.

Additional drivers getting a head start on their 2014 campaigns included Ryan Burdett in the Winged Sprints, David Baity in the Hornets, Dave Fleishman in Figure-8 Cars, and Train Plum Crazy in the Western States Equipment Figure-8 Trains.

Previous articleJohnson Survives Atomic’s Modified Mayhem
Next articleGrosz Takes UMSS Sprint Car Opener is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.