Oswego Champs Honored At Banquet


The top ten Novelis Supermodified teams were honored with 2013 champion Otto Sitterly taking a moment to thank his car owner John Nicotra, his family and crew for another successful year. Sitterly’s sixth championship ranks him with an elite group who has achieved similar title numbers including Nolan Swift, Jim Shampine and Bentley Warren. The remainder of the top ten, in descending order were Joe Gosek, Shaun Gosselin, David Gruel, Pat Lavery, Dave Danzer, Michael Barnes, Michael Muldoon, Dan Connors and Brandon Bellinger.

Tony Steiner became the Oswego Speedway Rookie of the Year by virtue of his fifteenth place finish in the competitive point standings, just beating out Fultonian Clayt Brewer III by 29 points for the title. Third generation supermodified driver Michael Muldoon, who finished eighth in the Novels super points, received the Most Improved Driver honors.

The Jake’s Automotive Supermodified Crew of the Year honors went to Gosselin Racing, which picked up two feature wins in 2013 and the Jake’s Automotive Supermodified Car Owner of the Year went to John Nicotra.

Ron Tascarella of PathFinder Bank, title sponsor of the Small Block Supermodified division at Oswego also spoke briefly about the division, which continues to grow each season, and the affiliation the bank has with the class.

Russ Brown, 2013 PathFinder Bank SBS champion spoke briefly of his fifth title, and more than likely his last as he indicated he has promised his family that this would be the last full season of any racing. Besides his competition at Oswego, which dates back to his first title in 1992, Russ has participated in many other race divisions including a stint in the supermodifieds.

Mexico’s Mike Bond was a close runner-up to Brown in the spirited title chase, trailed by Jason Simmons, Jay Andrews, Kreig Heroth, Jon Tesoriero (also Most Improved Driver), Andrew Schartner, Dalton Doyle, Rob Pullen and Jack Patrick in the SBS top ten.

The PathFinder Bank Butler Disposal Rookie of the Year Honors went to former dirt pilot Jeremy Pitcher who picked up his a feature win in his first year at Oswego on his way to that title.

The Jake’s Automotive SBS Car Owner of the Year award was presented to Jason Simmons, who finished third in the standings. The Jake’s SBS Crew of the Year award sent to the Four 7777 Motorsports team which fielded four cars during the season, two of which finished in the top ten (Mike Bond and Jon Tesoriero).

The Mitchell’s Speedway Press 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees included legendary drivers Mike Ordway Sr. (supermodifieds) and Dean Hoag (SBS and supers). Soule Racing was honored as car owners whose participation in Oswego racing began with the track’s inception in the late 50s when Jim Soule began and into the present with son Dan Soule at the helm of the team. Robert “Bud” Young who resides in Fulton, N.Y., was honored with induction for his long and capable service on the Oswego Speedway ambulance crew.

Photographer Bill Hartwell, whose photography over the years have and will preserve the long and storied history of the speedway, was among the class of 2013 and Berrien Springs, Michigan’s Dave Paul, who was a member of the early “Michigander” days of supermodifieds, was inducted under the Special Achievement category for his short and successful career at Oswego before moving on to USAC competition.

Previous articleStage Is Set For ASCS Finale
Next articleBassett Is Youngest UARA Champion
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.