Williamson Rolls To Merrittville Modified Victory

Mat Williamson in victory lane at Merrittville Speedway. (Nitroman Media photo)
Mat Williamson in victory lane at Merrittville Speedway. (Nitroman Media photo)

THOROLD, Ontario – Reigning Super DIRTcar Series big-block modified champion Mat Williamson starred during Sunday’s headlining S&W Service Center 358 modified feature at Merrittville Speedway.

Dalton Slack and Rob Knapp brought the S&W Service Centre 358 modifieds to the green flag for their 40-lap feature, with Slack showing the way early over Fred Carleton and Williamson.

Mike Bowman took over fourth, just as Williamson moved into second and challenged Slack for the lead. Williamson pulled the slider to take the lead away from Slack on lap nine and quickly checked out on the field.

Bowman closed the gap on the battle for second between Slack and Carleton as Tim Jones raced in fifth place. The caution came out at the race’s halfway mark as Corey Gruhl spun in turn two, erasing Williamson’s 6.8-second lead over the rest of the field.

Carleton took second away from Slack off the restart, as Gary Lindberg entered the top five and went after Bowman for fourth. Tim Jones came to a stop in turn two on lap 25 to bring out another yellow.

Williamson again took command of the field as Carleton, Slack, Bowman, and Lindberg all battled for position. Bowman passed Carleton for second on lap 31 and started to go after Williamson. Just one lap later, Gary Lindberg took over third place.

Lindberg brought out the caution with less than five laps remaining as he overdrove turns three and four. The late-race restart saw Bowman and Williamson share the front row, with Bowman challenging Williamson for the lead.

Steve Bernier moved into third, but up front Williamson scored the win.

Bowman, Bernier, Mark D’llario and Tyler Willard completed the top five.

In other divisions Jordan Poirier took home the checkered flag in the 360 sprint car feature, while defending division champion Rob Murray took the win in the Hoosier Stock main event.

The finish:

Mat Williamson, Mike Bowman, Steve Bernier, Mark D’llario, Tyler Willard, Gary Lindberg, Pete Bicknell, Todd Gordon, Austin Wood, Scott Wood, Dalton Slack, Rob Knapp, Simon Perreault, Fred Carleton, Tom Neale, Tanner Podwinski, Derek VanMil, Brian Page, Darren Peters, Tim Jones, Corey Gruhl.