Tremont Stops Britten Parade


MALTA, N.Y. — Kenny Tremont Jr. beat Peter Britten, winner of the last two DIRTcar modified features at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway, to the front Friday night and claimed his second consecutive Mike Ronca Memorial.

Six-time winner Brett Hearn and Britten chased the 12th-starting Tremont as the big guns clawed their way forward while polesitter Mark Kislowski and third-starting Brett Wright ran out to a huge lead.

But Hearn coasted to a stop on lap 10, triggering a restart that saw Ronnie Johnson and Mike Perrotte tangle in turn one. The next try saw Tremont blast to third but it then took him until lap 22 to dispose of rookie Wright.

Kislowski looked to be headed to Victory Lane until lap 30, when Tremont got inside him to steal a lead that went back and forth three times before Tremont squirted away with two laps remaining in the 35 lapper. In the meantime, Britten had been picking cars off steadily and finally bested Wright with the checkers in sight. Kislowski settled for fourth ahead of 20th-starting Marc Johnson, Neil Stratton, John Lutes Jr., Elmo Reckner, Don Ronca and Keith Flach.

Tremont joined pro stock winner Kim Deuel in remembering the late Mike Ronca, long a force at Albany-Saratoga in both the street stock and modified divisions, in victory lane.