Three Added To NEAR Selection Committee


Three of the most-celebrated names in the history of New England auto racing have been added to the New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

Hall of Fame inductees “Wild Bill” Greco (1999), Dennis Zimmerman (2001), and Harmon “Beaver” Dragon (2004), will each serve one term on the HOF Selection Committee starting this year.

Executive Committee Chairman Bruce Cohen believes that the move will result in a truly-unique perspective on the induction process.

“With Billy, Dennis, and Beaver now serving, it lends a great deal of experience to the committee,” Cohen recently stated. “Each year we receive a large number of ballots representing a wide selection of some of the region’s greatest. Bill, Dennis, and Beaver raced against many of these drivers & teams that are considered for induction. Their input brings a lot to the table historically-speaking.”

Others serving on the 2013 HOF Selection Committee are Mark Alden, Mark “Bones” Boucier, Lew Boyd, Bruce Cohen, Dave Countermarsh, Ed Duncan, Dave Dykes, Bruce Elder, Lloyd Hutchins Jr., Lou Modestino, R.A. Silvia, Nick Teto, Jim Torok, and Peter Vanderveer.

In other NEAR news, this year’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to be held in November moves to a new location.

After serious consideration by a committee formed by NEAR President Al Feeney, Maneeley’s Banquet Facility located on 65 Rye Street in South Windsor, CT. has been chosen as the new locale.

“They’ve proven to be very-receptive to our needs, and our recent visit was a truly- positive experience” states Feeney. “The facility is first class in-terms of menu, service, and cleanliness. Another plus is that the location is approximately 5-miles from the former place, and it remains easily-accessible for our guests