Stillwagon Tops Bridgeport 270cc Sprint Go


SWEDESBORO, N.J. – On Bridgeport Speedway’s quarter mile dirt oval, Tim Iulg won the 600cc Micro-Sprint feature while Bill Thomas took the 2012 championship in the division Friday.

Justin Stillwagon’s victory in the 270cc Micro-Sprint main event propelled him to the season title in the class. Nate Albright bested the field in the 4-Cylinder Enduro Car feature as Mike Dunn was honored as the champion.

After starting the event from the pole position, Tim Iulg led every step of the way to win the 20-lap feature for the 600cc Micro-Sprints. After the drop of the green flag, Iulg pedaled to the front with Joe Kay and Tim Buckwalter in pursuit.

Throughout the race, the top two of Iulg and Kay were running in close proximity. By the fifteenth circuit, Buckwalter joined the front running tandem and began to apply pressure on Kay for second.

In the final laps, Iulg was able to hold on to claim his first win of the year and fifteenth career victory at Bridgeport Speedway. Kay and Buckwalter had an excellent battle for second in the waning moments with Kay earning the spot. With Buckwalter coming home in third, Sam Locuson finished in fourth and Tyler DeVault wound up in fifth.

Bill Thomas took the 2012 championship in the 600cc Micro-Sprint class. The 600cc Micro-Sprint heats were won by Andrew Locuson, Tyler DeVault, and Tim Buckwalter.

After taking the lead on the second tour, Justin Stillwagon held off a late race charge from Charlie Lamanna to win the 20-lap 270cc Micro-Sprint feature and the 2012 season title.

Brian Morrill led the opening circuit before Stillwagon gained control. At the halfway point of the contest, Stillwagon had a comfortable half-straightaway lead over Lamanna. By lap 15 and with the top two driving through lap traffic, Stillwagon’s lead was cut in half.

As the checkered flag waved, Stillwagon was two car lengths ahead of Lamanna to earn the win and the championship. Richie Keller, Morrill, and Andrew Locuson completed the top five. Justin Stillwagon and Tyler Reinhardt were victorious in the 270cc Micro-Sprint qualifying races.

In the 20-lap 4-Cylinder Enduro Car race, Nate Albright held off Warren Stradley in the second half of the event to earn his first career victory. John Gray came home in third. With his fourth place finish, Mike Dunn earned the 2012 championship in the division. Fifth place went to Art Knapp.