Steffenhagen Leads Spencer Winners


WILLIAMSON, N.Y. – Jim Steffenhagen Jr. picked up the 25 lap NYS Super Stocks feature event at the Spencer Speedway Friday night.

Defending Sunoco Modified Champion Rusty Smith took home the victory in the 35 lap feature event for the Sunoco Modifieds. Bryce Norton collected the checkered flag for the INEX Legends National Qualifier event. Brian Hallett earned the victory for the Super Sixes. Shaun Frarey  won his sixth 4 Cylinder Scorpion feature of the season.

Jason Dinzler and Dale Lazzaro were on the front row for the NYS Super Stocks 25 lap main event and it was Dinzler showing the way early. Zach Willis and Willie Strusz moved up through the field as Willis went underneath Dinzler to move into the race lead. Dinzler fell all the way back to seventh spot as Strusz, Jim Steffenhagen, Mitchell Wright, Chris Vogler, and Steve Malin all were able to pass the early race leader. Jim Steffenhagen passed Strusz for second and then went after Willis. Steffenhagen then went underneath Willis to take over the race lead on lap eight. Phil Alhart Jr spun in turn one to bring out the caution on lap 10.

Brandon Larner spun as well to avoid Alhart. The restart would see Steffenhagen move into the lead. Steve Malin got loose and brought out the caution just one lap later. The lap 11 restart would see Steffenhagen and Chris Vogler take command of the event. Zach Willis, Chris Vogler, Willie Strusz and Terry Cheetham got together in turn three in a four car jingle to bring out the yellow flag on lap 18. All four cars made visit to the pits and came back out to complete the feature event. Steffenhagen would continue ot show the lead after the restart and he pulled away from Mitchell Wright to pick up the checkered flag. Steve Malin, Dave Fetterly and Willie Strusz completed the top five.

“It feels great to win in this new car tonight,” stated Steffenhagen Jr in victory lane. “The car was awesome.”

Bobby Lippa Jr and Darryl Lewis Jr were on the front row for the 35 lap feature event for the Sunoco Modifieds and it was Lewis jumping into the lead. Kevin Timmerman spun to bring out the races first caution on the opening circuit. On the restart, Andy Lewis moved into second to chase down his brother Darryl, who was scored as the race leader. Rusty Smith and Mike Leaty battled for fourth place. The caution would be displayed once again on lap seven as Timmerman came to a stop on the front stretch. The restart green would once again see the Lewis brothers run up front with Rusty Smith moving into third.

Billy Semmler and Kreig Heroth came together in turn one to bring out the caution on lap 10. Heroth, the 2012 Small Block Supermodified Champion at the Oswego Speedway was making his first start of the season at Spencer. Darryl Lewis Jr. continued to lead the field around the half-mile oval on the restart with Rusty Smith and Mike Leaty being able to pass Andy Lewis to take over second and third respectively. On lap 14, Rusty Smith would take over the race lead. Mike Leaty would go after Darryl Lewis Jr. for second place with Andy Lewis leading the battle for fifth between Eddie Hawkins and Kevin Timmerman.

Smith would pull away from the field to earn his third victory of the season. Darryl Lewis Jr would hold off Mike Leaty for second and was followed to the line by Andy Lewis and Eddie Hawkins.

“This car was flying tonight” stated Smith in victory lane. “It is harder this year to work on the outside lane so this year we were working on the bottom and tonight it paid off.”

Previous articleFAST Championship Battle Heating Up
Next articleDuncan Takes Atomic Blast Opener is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.