Spencer Speedway Win Goes To Smith


WILLIAMSON, N.Y. – Rusty Smith picked up his ninth career feature win on Friday at Spencer Speedway in the Sunoco Modified division.

“This is the same car we’ve raced here the last two years,” said Smith in Victory Lane. “I really don’t care what I drive as long as I can win.”

The New York Super Stock series was also on hand for their 25-lap main event. Terry Cheetham powered his way to victory, beating out Jim Steffenhagen Jr. at the line.

Fourteen Sunoco Modifieds took the green with Amy Catalano taking the lead from her pole starting position. Andy Lewis, Eddie Hawkins and Smith were all in tow behind her. On lap four the yellow flew when Tom Wiest’s number 35 coasted to a stop in the fourth turn.

The restart saw Smith duck low down the backstretch passing Lewis and Catalano for the lead by the entrance to the third turn. A lap later Catalano dropped back to fourth, seeming to suffer some mechanical issue.

Smith now found Mike Leaty, Darryl Lewis Jr., and Kevin Timmerman on his heels. The yellow flag flew again on lap 18, when Ron Smith looped around in the fourth turn. The restart saw Smith hold off the advances of Leaty, to remain the leader.

Two laps later, lap 21, the yellow flew again when Billy Semmler and Tim Lewis jr. came together in turn four. During this caution Amy pitted, returning to the back of the field. She would eventually exit the race on lap 26.

Smith remained the leader the rest of the 35-lap distance. Leaty finished second followed by Darryl Lewis Jr., Timmerman and Tommy Catalano rounding out the top five finishers.

The 25-lap New York Super Stock main event saw Jason Dinzler and his fiancée Brianna Ramsey move into positions one and two followed by Zach Willis and Willie Strusz.

The first yellow flag flew on lap seven when Strusz, following contact the lap before, stopped in the fourth turn with a flat tire. He was able to return to the back of the field for the restart.

The restart saw Cheetham duck low on the backstretch, passing Wright for second and setting his sights on Steffenhagen. But before he could make a move the yellow flew on lap 14 for a spin by Matt Lees.

Cheetham took the victory by some 10 car lengths over Steffenhagen Jr. and Wright. Chris Vogler, who started last on the field finished in fourth followed by Malin.

“I’ve raced here a lot,” stated Cheetham. “It’s been some time since I won here. Last year we sat the season out. We had to rebuild this car, almost from scratch. But everything works well on it now.”

Brian Hallett (Super Sixes), Shaun Frarey ((4 cylinder scorpions) and Bryce Norton (INEX Legends) all took feature wins on the evening.

Previous articleSchatz Claims 153rd WoO Victory
Next articleBusy Night At Marshalltown Speedway
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.