Spencer Speedway Finally Begins Season


WILLIAMSON, N.Y. – Mother Nature finally allowed Spencer Speedway the opportunity to begin the 60th anniversary year at the speedway with sunny skies Friday.

Mike Leaty moved into the seventh all-time Sunoco Modified winners list when he won Friday’s season opener.

“I am so pleased we looked good out there tonight,” stated Leaty. “It’s just a privilege to drive this car.”

The N.Y.S. Super Stocks also began their second season as a series. Chris Vogler picked up the 25-lap victory. In support divisions, wins went to Van Grant in the Super Sixes and Shawn Frarey in the 4-Cylinder Scorpions.

Daryl Lewis Jr. led the field of Sunoco Modifieds down to take the starter’s green flag and quickly jumped out into the lead. Amy Catalano tried the outside line but settled into second.

On lap five, Catalano looped her mount in the fourth turn to bring out the yellow. This moved Tony Hanbury into the runner up position. The restart saw Hanbury drop back with a bad handling machine and Mike Leaty move into challenge Lewis.

As the field went into the second turn on lap seven, Phil Wehrheim and Matt Lees tangled sending them both into the outside wall. The impact with the wall inflicted sever damage to both cars, but both drivers emerged unscathed. Officials waved the red flag as they needed time to remove both cars from the speedway surface.

The restart saw Lewis fend off Leaty and remain the leader. Then on lap 14, Leaty ducked low going into the first turn and grabbed the lead. He was followed, through the hole he opened on the inside by Kevin Timmerman, dropping Lewis back to third.

The yellow flew again on lap 25, when Tommy Catalano and Eddie Hawkins came together in the fourth turn. Both returned to the back of the field.

A final yellow came with just five laps remaining, lap 30, when Lewis looped out in the second turn.

Leaty held off Timmerman for the win, followed by Lewis, Rusty Smith and Hanbury rounding out the top five.

“I began to feel a high frequency vibration near the end of the race,” commented Leaty. “I am just glad we were able to take this win. We want to win the divisional championship this year.”

Previous articleNezworski Rules Davenport Dirt
Next articleVIDEO: Cruz Pedregon’s Record Run
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.