Rudolph Wins Again On Ransomville Dirt

Erick Rudolph (25) battles Mat Williamson Friday night at Ransomville Speedway. (Tom Stevens Photo)
Erick Rudolph (25) battles Mat Williamson Friday night at Ransomville Speedway. (Tom Stevens Photo)

RANSOMVILLE, N.Y. – Erick Rudolph picked up his fifth win of the season in the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds on Friday night at Ransomville Speedway during Fan Appreciation Night.

Mat Williamson started on the pole of the Krown Undercoating 358 Modified feature as he began the event 23 points behind Erick Rudolph for the division lead. Rudolph started fourth, but managed to drive under Williamson on the opening lap to take the lead.

Rudolph and Williamson quickly pulled away from the field, but their progress was slowed on lap eight when Steve Lewis Jr. stopped on the race track to bring out the caution.

Williamson turned the tables on Rudolph on the restart as he was able to regain the lead. The pair resumed their battle as they pulled away once again. This time there was no caution to impede their progress, but instead lapped traffic would come into play. Rudolph was able to get underneath Williamson on lap 19 to take the lead as the pair drove through slower cars.

Rudolph managed to get some separation from Williamson as he had difficulty clearing lapped traffic. Rudolph drove on to score his fifth of the year at Ransomville and his 21st victory overall this season. Williamson settled for second place, which extended Rudolph’s points lead to 27 with one race left in the season.

Chad Brachmann finished third for his third-straight top three performance. Gary Lindberg placed fourth with Mike Bowman rounding out the top five.

In additional action, Garrison Krentz earned his first win of the season in the Investor’s Service Sportsman. Billy Bleich claimed the win in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Street Stocks. Cole Susice extended his Gippster’s Collision Mini Stock points lead with his second win of the season. In the Stevenson’s Hardware Novice Sportsman, Mike Martin secured his first of 2019.