Rocco Survives Waterford Modified Mayhem


WATERFORD, Conn. – Waterford Speedbowl staged another round of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing Saturday night under seasonable weather.

Taking home victories on the night included Keith Rocco, winner of a rough and tumble SK Modified race and Cam McDermott in the evening’s SK Light Modified race.

Chris Meyer won a special 50-lap Street Stock feature, his first of the year. Garrett Denton continued his hot start to the season in the Mini Stock division, taking his third win in five races, while Dylan Izzo won his second INEX Legend Cars race of the season.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified division turned in a wild performance, culminating in nine caution flags including one red flag. Their feature began with Tyler Jackson claiming the lead on lap one. Coming out of turn four, defending champion Tyler Chadwick slid into the infield coming to rest to draw the first of the caution flags.

Jeff Gallup took over from Jackson following the restart, riding the outside groove into the race lead on lap three. Ed Puleo and Todd Ceravolo spun in tandem in turn two battling just outside the top-five before the next lap was complete to create the next caution period.

On the restart attempt, Nichole Morgillo was sent off track into the infield, coming to rest in turn one while Jackson spun from second position in turn four. Both restarted from the rear after a trip to the pit area.

Gallup led Brett Gonyaw after the lap three headaches, however both Jeff and Keith Rocco were on the move. They took over second and third positions behind Gallup by lap eight. Keith Rocco got the better of his twin brother on lap nine with an inside move in turn one.

On lap 12 Rocco made a similar move on Gallup into turn one to be scored the leader as they crossed the start-finish line. After Keith Rocco scooted away, contact from Jeff Rocco sent Gallup spinning into turn three the following lap, collecting several others. Jeff Rocco was sent to the rear of the field for the restart.

Previous articleTwo VMS Late Model Winners
Next articleWilson Claims Rocky Mountain Glory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.