Rocco Returns To Waterford Victory Lane


WATERFORD, Conn. -– Waterford Speedbowl was back in action Saturday evening hosting a night of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing.

Two-time track champion Keith Rocco was back in the winner’s circle, scoring an impressive win in the 35-lap SK Modified main event. Jeff Smith won an absolute thriller in the Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Models, Randy Churchill won his second SK Light Modified race of the year in as many tries and Allen Coates returned to the winner’s circle in the Street Stock division. Garrett Denton won his second Mini Stock feature race of 2013 and Brad Voglesong rounded out the night’s winners in the X-Car division.

The 35-lap SK Modified feature saw veteran racer Frank Mucciacciaro take the lead over Jeff Gallup from the pole position. The field survived contact further back in the pack down the back chute of the opening lap to settle in to complete lap one. Gallup would eventually bobble exiting turn four causing Jeff Rocco to get out of shape and make contact, sending Gallup spinning into turn one to bring out the race’s first caution flag.

When racing resumed Mucciacciaro resumed his lead as Diego Monahan moved to second ahead of Brett Gonyaw, who was able to tuck into third position. Todd Ceravolo took fourth from Jeff Rocco, while further back Keith Rocco was able to snatch seventh from Ted Christopher as the field completed lap eight.

Green flag racing dominated as Mucciacciaro had Monahan glued to his rear bumper. The pair raced out to a comfortable margin over Gonyaw. The man on the move during the run was Keith Rocco, climbing to fifth position on lap 16. Rocco tracked down Ceravolo next and got past his outside into fourth place on lap 19. Gonyaw was his next victim, disposing of him on lap 20 to rise to third. Rocco had caught Monahan when the second caution waved on lap 23 as Justin Gaydosh spun in turn four from of the back half of the top ten.

Previous articleIt’s Tyler Thomas In Oklahoma
Next articleBusch & Reed To Test V8 Supercar is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.