Robbins Wins, Brown Is Oxford Champ


OXFORD, Maine — Ryan Robbins drove to his second super late model victory of the season, while Gabe Brown earned his first stock car racing championship atop the Budweiser Championship Series racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway Saturday night.

Robbins, a former PASS Modified track and series champion, became the only two-time winner in points-counting races in the top class of competition at the historic Route 26 oval track this season.

Brown, 15, made history with his title, becoming the youngest premiere division champion in the almost six decades of motorized competition at OPS.  Brown hopes to secure his ‘highway’ driver’s license after turning 16 later this week.

Austin Teras, who won a Super Late Model race earlier this season at age 15, was the runner-up in the points finale.  Tracy Gordon of Strong, a PASS Open race winner and BCS winner earlier in the season, claimed third-place hardware following the 50-lap race.

T.J. Brackett passed a lot of cars as he tried to unseat Brown from the top of the standings, but the two-time track champion in the top class had to settle for runner-up honors in the championship battle for the second straight season.  Scott McDaniel, another first-time winner in the top class earlier this year, rounded out the top five.

Kyle Treadwell outran all foes in the 30-lap Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock class, picking up his first win in the division after joining the class late in the year. Matt Dufault clinched the class championship.

Kyle Hewins prevailed in an unusually-clean 20-lap main event for the Budweiser Championship Series Bandits division, cruising to yet another impressive victory. Dustin Salley finished 10th, but earned enough points to claim the  track title in the four-cylinder class.

Kyle Kilgore wrapped up his championship season in style, winning the 20-lap Figure-8 race for the eighth time this year.

Thomas Brackett put an exclamation point on his successful first year of stock car racing competition, winning the 15-lap rookie division race and wrapping up the first championship for the new class for young racers.

Wade Gelinas won his second consecutive 20-lap main event in the Outlaw class.  Ajay Cates finished second and secured the track title.

Conrad Childs pulled off a last-lap move that earned the top step on the podium following the 20-lap Rebel division feature. Jamie Heath finished third and earned the championship.

Brandon Varney prevailed in one of the tighter Oxford Acceleration Series championship battles, winning the 20-lap Cruiser main event to remain atop the season-long rankings.

Oxford’s own Ryan Farrar completed a season-long sweep of Truck division main event racing action with yet another 20-lap score putting the exclamation point on his second straight championship season.

Kyle Hewins was triumphant in the 15-lap four-cylinder Figure-8 race. Kevin Varney claimed the track championship in the first-year racing.

Maggie Ferland won for the second time in two attempts this year in Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Ladies division competition. Breanna Spaulding earned runner-up honors and wrapped up the 2018 Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Ladies Championship.