McPherson Return With New Humberstone Score


PORT COLBORNE, Ontario — Defending Cosco Haulage DIRTcar Sportsman track champion and former Mr. DIRT Cody McPherson came out of retirement and picked up the victory for the BEI Lightning Series on Fan Appreciation Night presented by Glo & Go Tanning at New Humberstone Speedway on Sunday night.

Sam Pennacchio won the main event for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models. Donny Lampman won the JC Auto Thunderstock feature while Evan Curtis and Dylan Llord picked up wins in the Glo & Go Tanning Mini Stocks and Airhardt Deliveries Pro 4 Trucks, respectively.

The Bellinger Electric Inc Lightning Series hosted race number two of their campaign at the New Humberstone Speedway with Cody McPherson and Emily Puchalski on the front row for the main event with Puchalski getting the early race advantage. After multiple cautions plagued the first portion of the feature event, Justin Sharp would take the lead with Dylan Davidson battling for the top spot. The duo would battle for a couple of laps until Davidson spun in turn two. The ensuing restart would see McPherson be able to regain the lead.

McPherson would pull away from James Michael Friesen and Justin Sharp throughout the second half of the race, but lap traffic would be a factor. With the leader starting to hit lap traffic late in the 30-lap contest, Friesen and Sharp were able to reel in McPherson and Friesen would come within inches of McPherson but it was the 2018 track champion Cody McPherson edging out Friesen to score the win.