Moore Ends Lengthy Oxford Plains Drought


OXFORD, Maine – Scott Moore raced to his first super late model victory of the season Saturday night, headlining the Budweiser Championship Series stock car racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway.

It was the second career win for the veteran competitor

Moore, who last tasted victory in the top class at Oxford Plains during the 2002 racing season, swapped the early race lead with Alan Wilson before settling into an entertaining battle with Josh Childs, who turned in the quickest laps during the race.

But Moore drove masterfully through lapped traffic to reclaim the race lead, and managed to beat a fast-closing Reid Lanpher to the checkered flag by .15-seconds.  Lanpher raced from 19th starting position to his second-place finish.

Scott Robbins earned yet another third-place finish, just edging out Johnny Clark for the final trophy. Clark, who started 16th, raced for several entertaining laps with runner-up Lanpher through slower traffic. Championship points leader Curtis Gerry rounded out the top five after starting in 22nd spot.

Hometown racer Skip Stanley won for the second time this season in the 30-lap main event for Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock racers.  Stanley won a couple of tough battles to earn his victory, holding off Rick Spaulding after prevailing in an extended battle with early race leader, and eventual third-place finisher, Pat Thorne of Standish.  Current points leader Matt Dufault prevailed in a race-long battle for fourth position with Dan Brown.

Jake Hall made his first appearance of the season an impressive one, leading the field of four-cylinder Bandit division racers throughout their 20-lap feature. Hall’s closest rival was friend Mike McKinney, also returning to action after an extended absence.  Defending champion and current points leader Dustin Salley was the third-place finisher.  Rookie Alex Mowatt and Jeff Libby rounded out the top five.

Dale Lawrence raced to his second Figure 8 race win of the year, leading the 15-lap race from start to finish. Larry Lizotte was the best of the rest, with Greg Durgin earning the third-place trophy over the previous week’s winner, Kyle Glover.

Brady Childs won for the sixth time this season in the Rookie divison. Dylan Cook had his best race, earning runner-up honors ahead of Cole Binette.  Owen Stuart and Jeremy Turner rounded out the top-five.