McPherson Tops Humberstone Battle


PORT COLBORNE, Ontario – Former Mr. DIRTcar Sportsman titlist Cody McPherson was the winner for the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman event held on Super Mario’s Pizza and Niagara This Week night at the New Humberstone Speedway Sunday evening.

Jorden Peters won his second Cosco Haulage RUSH Late Models feature of the 2014 campaign. Brad Sheehan won his first JC Auto Street Stocks feature of the season. Tyler Lafantaisie won his third TC Decals Mini Stocks feature event of 2014. Sam Pennacchio continued his winning ways as he was victorious for the sixth time in 2014 after his Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Truck triumph. Jason Coutu earned the guaranteed spot for the Eve of Destruction after his win in the 30 lap Enduro qualifier.

Adam Hilton and Ryan Turner led the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman to the green flag for their 25 lap feature with Hilton showing the way. Cody McPherson and Brad Rouse went three wide with Turner to move into second and third respectively on the opening circuit. Gord McIntosh and Joey Mastrioanni came together in turn one to bring out the races first caution on lap five. The restart would see Hilton continue to show the way with McPherson running right behind the leader. Tony Cowell spun in turn three on lap 11 to slow the field down for the second time.

On the restart, McPherson went to the outside to take over the race lead. Austin Wood moved into the top five after passing Ryan Turner for fourth and Gary Lindberg took over fifth after passing Turner on lap 13. Wood would challenge Rouse for third with under ten laps remaining as Rouse was challenging Hilton for second. Gary Lindberg would pass Wood for fourth place late in the main event. Cody McPherson would drive away from Hilton to pick up the victory, his second of the season. Hilton would finish in second and was followed by Rouse, Lindberg and Wood.

Rob Ledingham and Jeff Dayman were on the front row for the Cosco Haulage RUSH Late Models 20 lap main event with Ledingham showing the way early. Jorden Peters took over the lead on lap two. Rob Pietz would spin in turn two to slow the field down on lap seven. The restart would see Peters pull away from Ledingham with Paul Grigsby moving into third. Peters would open up the lead to a full straightaway over Ledingham and Grigsby at the halfway point with Bill Holmes and Tim Gillespie raced in the top five. Peters would pull away to collect his second win of the season.

Previous articleWOO: Cornwall Motor Speedway
Next articleBalog Aces Eagle Valley Sprint Show is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.