Mahaney Pockets $12,000 At Fonda

Mike Mahaney pocketed $12,000 for winning Sunday's modified feature at Fonda (N.Y.) Speedway. (Harry Cella Photo)
Mike Mahaney pocketed $12,000 for winning Sunday's modified feature at Fonda (N.Y.) Speedway. (Harry Cella Photo)

FONDA, N.Y. – Dirt modified stars Mike Mahaney and Danny Johnson shared Fonda Speedway’s famed “Checkerboard Square” victory lane Sunday.

The program was long, as rain forced Saturday’s features onto Sunday’s program, but the unique format, chosen to honor longtime Fonda hero Jumpin’ Jack” Johnson kept interest up both in the grandstands and the pits.

The modified heats paid $1,200 each to win, the modified feature was extended to 112 laps and the supporting class features all paid $1,200 to win based on Johnson’s familiar number, 12A.

Invader Mahaney, who burst on the scene this spring with a win in Fonda’s season-opening “Ice Jam” program, bookended the season by leading Ronnie Johnson, Brett Hearn, A.J. Romano and Billy Decker to the checkers in the nightcap.

He led lap one but gave way to fourth-starting Jimmy Davis the next time around, with Davis then leading through lap 50, when he and challenger Matt DeLorenzo tangled in turn one and ended up in the wall.

Mahaney inherited the lead and never gave it up despite the best efforts of Hearn and then Johnson, who got by Hearn on lap 99 when the latter slid high in turn one.

Otherwise, passing was extremely difficult on the black, slick surface produced by the bright sun, wind, non-stop racing and high car count. The victory was worth $12,000 for Mahaney.

In the day’s other holdover feature, Johnson started on the pole and led all 40 laps while Sheppard, Hearn and Friesen battled behind him.

Friesen appeared to have Johnson put away on lap 35 when he dove inside the 27j going to turn one but Johnson chopped him off severely and maintained the lead.

Friesen would then slide high, letting Sheppard and Hearn by before settling in for fourth. Alan Johnson, Ronnie Johnson, DeLorenzo and Bobby Varin trailed.

Pete Broderson edged Kenny Martin in the lucrative Pro-Stock finale, while Lange Yonge claimed the season finale for the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (click here for more on the ESS feature event).