Lindberg Takes Ransomville BRP Modified Spoils


RANSOMVILLE, N.Y. – Ridgeway, Ontario’s Gary Lindberg won the inaugural visit by the BRP Modified Tour at Ransomville Speedway during day two of King of the Hill Weekend.

Pete Stefanski won the main event for the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks, while Dave Bailey won the CanAm Challenge title between Ransomville and Humberstone Speedway.

Chris Leone won his fourth main event of the season for the Gippsters Collision Mini Stocks while Cole Susice won the track title. Derek Wagner won the Sportsman/Novice Shootout for the Investors Service Sportsman and Stevenson’s Hardware Novice Sportsman.

Multi-time series champion Rex King Sr. and Jim Rasey were on the front row for the BRP Modified Tour’s inaugural visit to the Big R for their 35-lap event, with King Sr. showing the way early.

Steve Barr slowed on the front straightaway to bring out the races’ first caution with three laps complete. The restart would see Sr. continue to show the way as Rex Jr. would take third place away.

Racey would take the lead on lap six and Alan Johnson would move into second as King Sr. got loose off turn two. Johnson would real in leader Rasey while working lap traffic.

King Jr. brought out the caution on lap 15 after spinning in turn three. On the restart, Gary Lindberg would move into third and battling with Johnson for second. Johnson would pass Racey for the lead with 15 to go.

Lindberg would reel in Johnson for the lead with 10 laps remaining. Lindberg would complete the pass while working the outside of the racetrack to take the lead away with nine laps remaining. Justin Hears would move into second after a lap 27 restart.

Lindberg would pull away late in the event and would go on to score the win. Hears, Brachmann, Johnson, and James Sweeting would complete the top five.

The finish:

Gary Lindberg, Justin Haers, Chad Brachmann, Alan Johnson, James Sweeting, Ryan Susice, Rex King Sr., Rex King Jr., Greg Martin, Justin Wright, Jim Rasey, Shannon Whaley, Kyle Fink, Kevin Hoffman, Paul Kot, Skip Moore, Jesse Cotriss, Ralph McBride, Max Smoker, Rick Regalski, Steve Barr, Rick Richner, Dave Murdick, Brad Rapp, JR McGinley, Phil Vigneri III.