Lindberg Sizzles At Brockville Ontario Speedway


BROCKVILLE, Ontario – Gary Lindberg dominated the 358 modified field at Brockville Ontario Speedway to dominate Saturday’s 1000 Islands RV Summer Sizzler.

Madison Mulder battled for the lead with Lindberg at the start of the event, with Ryan Arbuthnot, Austin Wood and Mike Bowman completing the top-five.

It didn’t take long for the first caution to wave as a three-car tangle in turn one involving Chris Raabe, Johnathon Ferguson and Joe Banks took place. Raabe would need some assistance back to the pits while Banks and Ferguson were able to continue.

On the restart Mulder took the lead again, but Lindberg would use the middle line through turns three and four to grab the lead while Arbuthnot, Wood and Bowman continued to race in the top-five.

Once in front Lindberg would stretch the advantage to more than a straightaway, leaving many to wonder if he could be caught. On lap 16 Lindberg still held the lead as all drivers would migrate to the bottom of the speedway, making passing tough.

On lap 17 the great run for Mulder would end as he slowed off turn four, bringing his ride to the infield. Once the green came back out Lindberg once again was the driver in charge over Arbuthnot and Bowman, but behind them 2017 Brockville champion Luke Whitteker was trying to make the outside lane work and he did just that as he pulled even with Pete Bicknell in a battle for fifth.

Bicknell would fend off Whitteker and charge after Austin Wood for the fourth spot. On lap 23 the yellow waved for Corbin Miller who spun in turns three and four. On the restart Lindberg once again would get a great launch charging to a four-car length lead over Arbuthnot, Bowman, Wood and Kyle Dingwall.

With five laps to go it appeared Lindberg was on his way to an easy win, but the caution waved for Dylan Evoy, who spun off the top side of turn three.

On the final restart Lindberg was not to be denied as he pulled away in the final laps to secure his first ever Brockville 358 Modified feature win. Arbuthnot held on for second, with Bowman, Whitteker and Bicknell completing the top-five.

In other action, Jarrett Herbison was the winner in the sportsman division. D.J. Christie (crate sprints), Mike Gaucher (mini stocks) and Michael Delormier (rookie sportsman) were also winners on Saturday.