Lewis Inherits Spencer Modified Trophy


WILLIAMSON, N.Y. – Kirk Totten was all smiles after finishing first in the 35-lap NASCAR Sunoco Modified feature last Friday at Spencer Speedway.

He related to the crowd from victory lane about putting a new motor in the cars and how it was running good. All of that joy came to an end in the post race inspection line when it was determined he was running the wrong tires on his car. He was disqualified and the win was handed over to second place finisher Darryl Lewis Jr.

The 35-lap Sunoco Modified main event saw Eddie Hawkins take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Hawkins was being dogged by Darryl Lewis Jr. On lap 10, newcomer Kirk Totten powered his number 11x into second past Lewis and took off after Hawkins. Two laps later he caught Hawkins and out dragged him on the back stretch, running the outside lane. Totten secured the lead on lap 14.

The yellow flew on lap 20, when Tim Lewis Jr. looped around entering the fourth turn as cars were being to lap him. This set up a 15 lap dash to the checkers with Totten taking the supposed win by some ten car lengths over Darryl Lewis Jr., Kevin Timmerman, Mike Leaty, Rusty Smith and Hawkins.

The post race inspection turned up the wrong tires on the Totten car, handing the win to Darryl Lewis Jr. For Darryl Lewis Jr. the win marks his 10th career Sunoco Modified feature win at the track and ties him for 8th best on the All-Time feature win list.

In accompanying features, Brian Hallett made it two in a row in the Super Six division. He now has 16 Spencer Speedway Super Six career wins to his name. Shaun Frarey walked away with the Four Cylinder feature victory. A late race caution bunched the field together, but no one could best Frarey. Rounding out the night were the Mid-State Vintage racers. Bob Ripley in his Geoff Bodine #99 Valiant bodied big block modified took the feature victory.