It’s Buckley’s Night At Chemung


CHEMUNG, N.Y. – Winners on a busy night at Chemung Speedway on Friday night included Jody Buckley (Sunoco Modifieds), Terry Potrzebowski (Super Stocks), Nick Morich and Kenny Benjamin (Four Cylinders), Brandon DeBrakeleer (INEX Legends), Chris Clemens (Dirt Crate Sportsmen), and David French (Bandoleros).

If an impressive burnout is any indication how happy a feature winner is after a grueling race, then everyone can assume that Jody Buckley is one happy racer. The Horseheads, NY driver proved he had the car to beat Friday night and no one in the Sunoco Modified division could do it. Fast out of the box, Buckley also won his heat race. On this night he put hope against hope that bad racing luck wouldn’t follow him and it didn’t.

Gene Sharpsteen led the first seven laps, first shaking off Randy Brokaw and then being pursued by Jody Buckley. As the pair sailed off turn two on the eighth lap Buckley powered around him and took over the top spot. Jimmy Zacharias also got around Sharpsteen and was up to second. Over the second half of the race it was Buckley and Zacharias on the front row but each time Buckley opted to start on the outside.

Buckley’s car had already proven to be stout on the outside. On each of those restarts Buckley cleared the Zacharias #71 by the start/finish line and he was able to maintain the race lead.

The final caution came out with six laps remaining but the outcome was the same for Buckley. The only downside of his win was that track officials were trying to get the whole show in before curfew so all victory lane interviews had to wait until the final race was completed. It didn’t matter to Buckley, whose donuts and tire spins with the nose of his car up against the outside wall made it all worth the wait.

“I knew Jimmy wasn’t gonna put me in the fence and my car handled really well up there,” Buckley said after the long overdue victory. Zacharias was second, followed by Zack Curren, Sharpsteen and heat winner Connor Sellars.

The finish:

Jody Buckley, Jimmy Zacharias, Zack Curren, Gene Sharpsteen, Connor Sellars, Paul Hartwig, Randy Brokaw, Dylan Zacharias, Larry Jaynes, John Wilber, Chris Clemens, Cam Ayres, Andy Jankowiak

Previous articleDillon Wins, Snaps Toyota’s CWTS Streak
Next articleTRUCKS: Pocono Mountains 150 is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.