Hossfeld Among Five Lancaster Winners

Chuck Hossfeld and his crew pose in victory lane Saturday night Lancaster Speedway @ New York Int'l Raceway Park. (Paula Thompson Photo)
Chuck Hossfeld and his crew pose in victory lane Saturday night Lancaster Speedway @ New York Int'l Raceway Park. (Paula Thompson Photo)

LANCASTER, N.Y. – Chuck Hossfeld captured the 25-lap Race of Champions Sportsman Modified Series event as part of Autograph Night at Lancaster Speedway @ New York Int’l Raceway Park on Saturday.

In supporting action, Terry Weldy won the Race of Champions Late Model feature. Rich Sharpe captured the Street Stock feature. Dave Brunka won the 4-Cylinder feature. Dave Wollaber won the NYPA TQ Midget feature.

The front row of the RoC Sportsman Series feature included a pair of drivers from Eden, N.Y., as George Skora III and Mike Fiebelkorn Jr. led the field of 23 cars to the opening green flag. Skora grabbed the lead while Hossfeld came from the third starting spot to move into second place. Two laps later Hossfeld got by Skora to take the lead.

The race was slowed by a trio of cautions during laps seven and eight. The front of the field saw a major shakeup with the second of these incidents. Skora slowed up on the outside line and eventually hooked nerf bars with Fiebelkorn. Daryl Lewis Jr. received damage in the chaos and collided with Erick Ruffell. Tony Carbone was also involved.

This moved Shawn Nye into second place followed by Joe Evans, John Barber, Eddie Hawkins and Andy Jankowiak.

The rest of the race ran off caution free as Hossfeld and Nye distanced themselves from the rest of the field. Hossfeld held off Nye in the closing laps to secure the victory. Nye finished second followed by Barber, Hawkins and Jimmy Zacharias.

Weldy captured his first late model feature win on Saturday at Lancaster in the RoC Late Model Series 30-lap feature. Weldy took over the lead following a lap two restart when he drove under race leader Sam Fullone. Fullone has slid up on the restart to possibly block Bobby Weber, Weldy used that as an opportunity to get by Fullone.

Weldy and Weber dominated the majority of the race as they opened up a sizable advantage over the field. The pair of late race cautions shook things up. Dave Whittaker spun out on lap 21 to bring out the first caution after a 19-lap run. Weber and Eldon King III tangled in turn two, two laps later.

This set up the final run to the finish for Weldy, who drove away for the final seven laps to score his first late model win. Frank Batista Jr. finished in second place. Fullone, Weber and King rounded out the top five.

Sharpe led all 25 laps of the Street Stock feature to capture his first win of the season. The first 15 laps of the race went caution free. Ken Maltby and Nik Welshans were chasing Sharpe through lapped traffic when Maltby was slowed by a lapped car. Welshans ran into the back of Maltby to spin him out while Mike Scott spun to avoid them.

This moved Brian Hoffman to second place followed by Mark Hoch, Mike Dalfonso and Tommy Wentland. Hoffman challenged Sharpe for the lead when the race went back to green, but Sharpe pulled away in the closing laps. Sharpe picked up the win followed by Mark Hoch, Wentland, Chris Powers and Dalfonso.

Dave Brunka and Kenny Hejna battled for the win in the 4-Cylinder feature. Hejna attempted to get a run alongside Brunka late in the race, but lapped traffic made it difficult for him to make a pass. Brunka held on to score the victory over Hejna, Dan Dressel, Charles Palmer and Chris Pennell.

Wollaber passed Bobby Holmes with five laps to go to win the 20-lap NYPA TQ Midget feature. Holmes passed polesitter Chad Haywood for the lead on lap six. Wollaber moved into second place five laps later. He then got a run to the inside of Holmes down the back straightaway to take the lead.

The engine expired in Holmes’s car shortly after this to set up a battle between Wollaber and Kyle Hutchinson to decide the race. Hutchinson challenged Wollaber all the way to the finish, but could not overtake him. Wollaber scored the victory followed by Hutchinson, Andy Jankowiak, Erik Musto and Andy Nye.