Hoag Breaks Black Rock Ground


DUNDEE, N.Y. – The ultra-competitive sportsman division added a new page in the record books on Friday night at Black Rock Speedway when Nicole Hoag scored her first win in a feature event.

With previous feature winners and point leaders mired deep in the field at the start of the Sportsman feature, Hoag, who started sixth, quickly was into the lead by lap four and solidly paced the field through a couple of field-bunching cautions. Loren Lincoln provided the pressure through the midpoint of the race, after slipping by Brent Ayers for second, and showed Hoag the front wheels on a number of occasions.

Despite starting 14th and 11th, respectively, previous feature winners Donnie Lawson and Ray Bliss were solidly in the top five shortly after the halfway point. Lawson slipped by Chris Silvers, who had run third throughout most of the race, on the 17th lap, but was unable to overcome Lincoln in a tremendous three-car battle for the lead. Lincoln would hold off Lawson for second while Silvers and Bliss rounded out the top five.

In the Late Model event, defending track champion John Waters snagged the lead from Sparky Hills on lap three, and paced the field through lap nine, when uncharacteristic mechanical problems sent him pitside. Brothers Brian and Jason Knowles had been in a spirited debate for second, and turned it into a side-by-side battle for the lead.

Brady Wonderling took over third on the tenth lap, and the trio put on a show at the front for the next few laps, with Jason taking the top spot with five laps remaining. Bruce Miller, who started tenth, decided it was time to go about the mid-point of the race, running 8th on lap 8, moving into 5th on lap 10, and driving into third by the 15th lap.

Miller moved to the runner up spot with four laps remaining and was at Jason’s rear bumper with three to go but Jason was able to fight off the challenge to score the win. Miller settled for second, with Brian Knowles crossing third, Wonderling fourth, and Steve LeBarron fifth.

The Street Stock feature was highlighted by a multi-car battle at the front throughout much of the event. Nate Daggett, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Dylan Cecce, Rich Sharpsteen, Jake Karlnoski, and Corey Costa kept the crowd on the edge of their seats, with Cecce holding the advantage through lap 14.

His buddy Sharpsteen was scored second throughout much of the middle part of the race, but the other four drivers kept it close. Daggett retired on lap 13, which set up a wild three-wide battle for most of the next circuit. As he did on opening night, Sharpsteen, the defending 4-cylinder champion, was able to come out on top, holding off a determined Costa. Potrzebowski slipped by Cecce in the closing laps to take third while Karlnoski rounded out the top five.