Hirschman Hits Turkey Derby Jackpot


WALL, N.J. – Modified stock car driving invaders Matt Hirschman and Zane Zeiner took the lion’s share of the weekend purses and the Turkey Derby trophies back to the Keystone State by splitting main event wins in the season ending stock car classic.

It was the first Turkey Derby victory for each driver after several attempts.

In the touring Modified 150-lapper, Hirschman was a factor from start to finish as he wrestled Jimmy Blewett, Zeiner, Steven Reed and brothers Danny and Michael Bohn, both of North Carolina, for the top spot. Hirschman finally powered past Blewett in the outside lane for the final time with 19 laps remaining to take the lead and the eventual win.

Danny Bohn then wrestled with Blewett before stealing away second in the closing laps. Michael Bohn was fourth and Ken Barry was fifth.

In the Wall/SK Modified 100-lapper, Blewett led the initial 30 circuits until mechanical failure forced him out of the race. Howell’s Eric Mauriello then took command before Michael Gervais took the top spot after a round of pit stops. Zeiner came thundering through the pack before taking the lead for good with an inside lane pass with just 20-laps remaining.

Anthony Sesely recovered from early race trouble for second, while Mauriello was third. Steven Reed and Tim Arre were fourth and fifth.

After setting fast time in qualifying, Andrew Krause raced to the win in the 40-lap main event for the Dirt Modified cars. Joey Payne fought for the top spot most of the way before finishing second, while Rich Coons, Dave Hunt and Jimmy Weiss were third through fifth.

Also on Saturday, Ken Matlach won the 50-lap Street Stock feature after coming from the rear of the field twice and fighting for the lead with eventual runner-up Nick Shaw of Chatham. Ray Minieri, Mike Williams and Derek Hopkinson were third through fifth.

Joey Payne won Saturday’s TQ Midget main event over Ryan Tidman and Robin Johnston.

During Friday’s day one of Turkey Derby, Zack Alspach took the win in a wild 50-lap Sportsman main event. Eric Mauriello was second, while Marc Nappi of Howell, brother Joe Nappi, also of Howell, and Manasquan’s Ken Van Wickle completed the top five.

In other Friday action invader Kyle Ellwood grabbed his first ever Wall Stadium win in the Legend Cars 35-lapper over Ryan Flores and Kevin Nowak. Shanon Mongeau won the 40-lap Factory Stock main event over Joe Mongeau and Ronnie Mullen.

Also on Friday, Rob Ormsbee of Wall won the Late Model 35-lapper over Zane Zeiner and Alfano, while Mitch Bombard topped Scott Adams and Todd Pilla in the 4 Cylinder 40-lap main event.

Sunday action wrapped up the three-day Turkey Derby with Ricky Williams winning the 75-lap 4 Cylinder main event over Pete Zakartz and Scott Adams. Joe Mongeau won the 50-lap Factory Stock main event over Shanon Mongeau and Rob Longo. The 10-lap Ladies’ Race was won by Billy Jo Michel over Lisa Danish, Lisa Matthews and Maryanne Meli.

In Sunday Demolition Derby action Brian Savoy took top honors over Jason Savoy and Anthony Brookshire. Brookshire was the Fan Favorite, while Justin Dunn was voted to have the Most Attractive car and Ryan Bigley’s mount was crowned Most Wrecked.