Hansen & Schrader Are Merrittville Stars

Josh Hansen
Josh Hansen

THOROLD, Ontario — Josh Hansen and veteran racer Ken Schrader shared top honors Monday night at Merrittville Speedway.

Schrader took the victory in the UMP modified feature, while Hansen topped the Action Sprint Tour feature.

The sophomore season of the Action Sprint Tour kicked off with Jesse McDonald showing the way from the drop of the green flag in their 20-lap feature event. Josh Hansen raced in third with Brad Herron and Ryan Hunsinger raced inside the top five.

The leaders would hit lap traffic on lap seven, just as Josh Hansen took second away from Dykstra. Hansen would take the lead away from McDonald in lap traffic on lap nine. Dave McKnight Jr flipped in turn two to bring the red flag out on lap 12.

Hansen would continue to show the way off the restart. Adrian Stahle slowed in turn two to bring out the caution on lap 14.

On the restart, Hansen and McDonald pulled away from Dykstra. McDonald closed to the rear tailpipe of Hansen for the lead and the top two battled for the win. Hansen would hold off McDonald to score the win. McDonald, Dykstra, Brad Herron, and Ryan Hunsinger completed the top five.

Schrader used the outside to power to the lead on the opening lap in the main event for the UMP Modifieds with Dennis Lunger Jr. running in second. With Schrader and Lunger battling for the lead, Jonah Mutton was holding off Brian Speelman and Kraig Handley for third place.

Handley would move into third place after a lap-11 restart and would go after Lunger and Schrader. Schrader would hold off Lunger to score the feature win.

Third-generation driver James Michael Friesen won the main event for the David Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman. “The Merlin Magician” Steve Shaw won the feature event for the Hoosier Stocks. Kevin Conley picked up his second Dave’s Auto and Speed Centre V6 feature win of the season.