Hamann Charges At Holland


HOLLAND, N.Y. – Kris Hamann raced his way to his first Bank of Holland Chargers feature win of 2013 on Kwik Fill Night at the races on the historic highbanks of the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex.

Camden Barber picked up his third straight NYPAMA TQ Midget feature of the season. Ben Russo continued his winning ways by claiming his fourth win of the season in the NASCAR 4 Cylinder Hornets while Shane Toms claimed his first career M&M U Pull It Figure 8 Car feature event.

Ken Maltby and Rich Carnes led the field of Bank of Holland Chargers to the green flag and it was Carnes jumping into the race lead. Former divisional Champion Dave Wilson Jr moved into second on lap two and quickly set his sights on race leader Carnes. The battle was on behind the top four as Zach Myers, Eric Brown and Rob Miszczak made it a three car battle for fifth place with five laps completed and it was Myers winning the battle.

Dave Wilson Jr went underneath Carnes exiting turns three and four and Wilson took over the race lead on lap ten. Kris Hamann raced his way into third place with Myers and Brown following the lead trio. Hamann was able to get underneath Carnes to move into second place. Zach Myers’s great run came to a conclusion on lap 18 to bring out the races first caution of the night as Myers came to a stop on the top side of turns one and two.

On the restart, Wilson and Hamann went side by side but Wilson still maintained the race lead. Hamann was able to get underneath Wilson and takeover the lead with six laps remaining and would hold off Miszczak, Wilson, Thomas Northem and Jerry Kosmowski to claim his first Charger victory of the season.

Charlie DiRosa and Jim Fleischman was on the front row for the NYPAMA TQ Midgets and it was Fleischman showing the way. On lap four, Andy Nye would take over the point but the lead was short-lived as Nye got loose and spun and collected Jonathan Reid as Vinnie Christiano Jr. flipped in turn three. As a result, Kyle Hutchinson would inherit the lead over Fleischman, Camden Barber, Shawn Nye and Scott Wylie in the top five.

On the lap five restart, Hutchinson pulled away from Camden Barber who moved into second place. Dave Wollaber came to a stop in turn three after Chad Heywood spun in turn four to bring out the races second caution with just seven laps completed. On the restart, Cam Barber took over the race lead with Hutchinson trying to reel in the third generation driver Barber. Shawn Nye reeled in the top two just as Jim Fleischman and Scott Wylie came together in turns three and four.

On the lap 12 restart, Barber, Hutchinson, and Shawn Nye would pull away from the field and Nye would get to the outside of Hutchinson and battle for second with five laps remaining. Cam Barber would hold off a hard charging Shawn Nye and Kyle Hutchinson to claim his third straight TQ Midget victory. Nick Groff would get a career finish in fourth place while Andy Nye crossed the line in fifth. After NYPAMA Tech, Nye was docked two positions.

John Blinston and Josh Hill led the 4 Cylinder Hornets to the green flag with Hill getting the early race advantage. The caution flew for the first time with two laps completed as Louis Carbone hit the front stretch wall. “Butcher” Palmer also went into the pits after suffering a flat right rear tire. Both Palmer and Carbone was able to continue on racing. On the early race restart, Hill would continue to show the way over Tim Swatsworth, Kenny Hejna, Chris Powers and Ben Russo in the top five.

Russo and Powers went three wide with Swatsworth to move into third and fourth place respectively. Powers would continue to move through the field as he would move into second by lap six and quickly chassed down race leader Josh Hill. Powers would take over the lead on lap eight and on the same circuit, Ben Russo moved into second place. Defending divisional Champion Jeff Szafraniec moved into third after starting 12th on the starting grid with ten laps completed.

At the races halfway point, Chris Powers continued to show the way over Ben Russo, Szafraniec, Josh Hill and Kenny Hejna. With the top two racing through lap traffic, Jeff Szafraniec was able to catch the top two. A late race restart saw Russo move into the lead over Powers with Szafraniec running behind in third. Russo would pull away and would go on to his fourth consecutive Hornet feature. Chris Powers would finish in second and was followed closely to the line by Jeff Szafraniec, Tony Carbone and Josh Hill would complete the top five

Shane Toms and Josh Hill led the field of M&M U Pull-It Figure 8’s to the green flag for their feature event with Toms getting the advantage getting onto the figure 8 course. Jason Adams moved into first place on lap two. Jason Eck got into the race leader and Shane Toms took over the lead and raced his way to pick up his first career Figure 8 feature event.