Fleury Takes Thunder Road Glory


BARRE, Vt. – Shawn Fleury battled by John Donahue on the final restart with three laps to go in the 50-lap Thunder Road Late Model feature during the Jet Service event on Sunday and held on for the win.

Following the second and final caution of the event on lap 47, Fleury started to the outside of Donahue and the duo swapped paint all the way around the high-banked quarter-mile during a wild finish over the final three laps. On the final lap, Fleury got the advantage in the high lane and claimed his second win of the season.

Donahue settled for second ahead of current point leader Derrick O’Donnell completing the podium. Jason Corliss and Trampas Demers earned top five finishes. Nick Sweet, Joey Laquerre, rookie Eric Badore, Brooks Clark and rookie Josh Demers completed the top 10.

The Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen ran triple 50 features as their part of the day’s racing card. Mike Billado made it two-in-a-row when he claimed the win in the first 50 lap feature ahead of Dylan Payea and Brendan Moodie. Jeff Bousquet earned his second feature win of the season in the second event ahead of Eric Johnson and Moodie. Mike Martin claimed his first win of the season in the third and final feature. He held off Moodie, who completed the hat trick for podium finishes and current point leader Jason Woodard finished third.

Kyle Streeter earned his third straight podium finish as he pocketed his first Allen Lumber Street Stock feature win of the season ahead of Marcel Gravel and Jeremy Colson. Jaden Perry and Bunker Hodgdon scored top fives. Tommy Smith, Tyler Austin, Jamon Perry, Donny Yates and Alan Maynard completed the top ten.

The annual Run-What-U-Brung saw Wolcott’s Richard Gravel win the four cylinder portion, while Brittaney Fisher won the six and eight cylinder portion.

The finish:

Shawn Fleury, John Donahue, Derrick O’Donnell, Jason Corliss, Trampas Demers, Nick Sweet, Joey Laquerre, Eric Badore, Brooks Clark, Josh Demers, Scott Dragon, Brett Gervais, Joey M. Laquerre, Dave Pembroke, Boomer Morris, Cody Blake, Matt White, Eric Chase, Ricky Roberts,  Kyle Pembroke, David Whitcomb, Phil Scott, Terry Reil, Jason Allen, Mark Norris, Scott Coburn

Previous articleLazzaro & Aschenbach Score In Sonoma
Next articleSPORTSCAR: Oak Tree Grand Prix (GT)
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.