Devil’s Bowl Turns To Stone


WEST HAVEN, Vt. — Todd Stone continued his remarkable stock car racing season with a dominant run in the “Coca-Cola Firecracker” special at Devil’s Bowl Speedway Friday.

A huge crowd watched as Stone notched his fourth victory in eight starts in the Bond Auto Parts Modified division, while Dan Petronis, rookie Brad Bushey, Jake Noble, “Wild Bill” Fountain, and Andrew Allen also took victories, and the region’s largest fireworks display was presented by Alonzo Fireworks.

In the special 44-lap modified event, Stone started 10th and quickly made his way through traffic into third place by lap 10. Joe Williams held a large lead but crashed in turn three to bring out the caution flag. Stone jumped ahead of Jim Introne Jr., and into the lead on the restart, then survived one final restart against Hunter Bates to take the victory. Bates finished second, followed by Ron Proctor, Vince Quenneville Jr. and Leon Gonyo.

Dan Petronis and Chris Bergeron fought tooth-and-nail throughout the 44-lap late model event. Petronis led the early portion of the race before Bergeron took command on the outside lane, but Petronis clawed his way back in the final laps to pass Bergeron and score the second Devil’s Bowl victory of his career.

Rookie Josh Masterson finished third for the second-straight race, followed by Chris Curtis and Robert Bryant Jr.

Rookie Brad Bushey scored his career-first victory in the two-segment Renegade feature. Bushey finished second in the opening 12-lap leg, then put on an impressive drive from the rear to win the final segment. His total low score of three points was enough to top Richie Turner (4 points) and rookie Richard Lowrey, III (8 points).

Teammates Jake Noble and rookie Lacey Hanson made it a 1-2 sweep in the 15-lap Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock feature

“Wild Bill” Fountain lived up to his billing in the 75-lap Enduro Series event. The Daredevil “community” racing division made its 2013 debut with representatives from Coca-Cola taking to the track. Andrew Allen won the six-lap race ahead of Jamie Zsido and Kelly Bullock.



Previous articleEdwards Gets Back On Track
Next articleBusy Night At Marshalltown Oval is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.