Contu Doubles Up At Humberstone

Jason Contu won a pair of races Sunday night at New Humberstone Speedway. (Softouch Photos)
Jason Contu won a pair of races Sunday night at New Humberstone Speedway. (Softouch Photos)
Jason Contu won a pair of races Sunday night at New Humberstone Speedway. (Softouch Photos)

PORT COLBORNE, Ontario – Derek Wagner picked up the victory in the TUSA Mod Lite Tour A-Main on Davidson Line Marking & Property Maintenance Night at the New Humberstone Speedway Sunday evening.

Defending Mr. DIRTcar Sportsman champion Brad Rouse earned his third victory of the season in the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman. Veteran Paul Grigsby picked up his first victory of the season for the Cosco Haulage RUSH Late Models. Jason Fontaine earned the victory in the JC Auto Street Stocks.

Jason Coutu earned his fourth TC Decals Mini Stocks feature event of the season while also winning the Eve of Destruction (EoD) Enduro Qualifier. Kyle Tomaski earned the guaranteed starting spot for the Eve of Destruction. Danny Wurster picked up his first victory of the season for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks.

Dylan Davidson and Paul Klager led the TUSA Mod Lite Tour to the green flags of starter John Veach for their 20 lap feature event and it was Klager taking over the lead at the end of the opening circuit with Derek Wagner, Josh Sliter and Rob Meisner racing in the top five early on. Wagner would take over second from Davidson on lap four with Sliter and Meisner battling for fourth. The races first caution came out on lap five as Jamie Gilbert and Chris Watson came together in turn one.

The restart would see Klager and Wagner pull away from Sliter, Davidson and Meisner in the top five. Meisner looped his racer in turn one to bring out the caution on lap nine. Klager would pull away from Wagner and Davidson on the restart. Josh Sliter would lay down fluid and brought out the yellow flag once again on lap 11. The mid-race restart saw Wagner take over the lead with Jesse Hudson passing Davidson to move into third. Marty DeMoel brought out the caution on lap 12 as he suffered a broken front end.

Hudson went pitside during the caution period, handing the third spot back to Dylan Davidson. Jamie Gilbert, who spun earlier in the event worked his way back up through the field as he passed Davidson and Klager to move into second place. Wagner would hold off the hard charging Gilbert to pick up the win. Klager would finish in third with Davidson and Jeff May completing the top five.

Brad Rouse and Jeff Armstrong brought the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman to the green flag for their 25 lap feature event with Rouse into the lead with Armstrong, A.J. Lewis, Ryan Turner and Matt Sharpe in the top five at the end of lap one. Gord Moreau went off the track in turn one to bring out the races first caution on lap two. The early race restart saw Rouse pull away from the field as Lewis was able to gain the runner up spot after passing Armstrong.

Austin Wood raced his way into third with Armstrong holding off Cody McPherson and defending track champion Gary Lindberg. Lindberg would pass McPherson to move into fifth on lap eight and then just one lap later, Lindberg took over fourth after passing Armstrong. The leaders would hit lap traffic at the races midway point with the leaders being able to work through it. Adam Leslie brought out the caution on lap 18 with a flat right rear tire.

The restart saw Lewis challenge Rouse for the lead as James Michael Friesen passed McPherson for fifth place. Rouse would clear Lewis for the lead on lap 20 as Lindberg battled Wood for third. Rouse was able to pick up the win. Wood, Lindberg, Lewis and McPherson completed the top five. Adam Leslie and Jeff Armstrong were scored at the end of the field after their altercation on the cool down lap at the completion of the event.

Previous articleVan Dee Tops Knoxville Enduro
Next articleChampions Crowned At Eagle Valley is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.